It is About the Direction, Not the Distance or Our Walk

directionWhen we grow weary of how slowly our body does everything from walking to healing, Debs shares how it is about the direction that matters.

“I instruct you in the way of wisdom and lead you along straight paths. When you walk, your steps will not be hampered; when you run, you will not stumble” (Proverbs 4:11-12).

Since I have had fibromyalgia the thought of having to walk somewhere, let alone run, fills me with dread. I find that I have to pace myself now and think about how much walking I can manage.

I choose to use most of my energy on walking my youngest son to school each morning. It is such a special time and he loves “to matter” all the way. I am so thankful to God that I am able to do this. Though I don’t complain when it is raining and He asks if we can take the car!

Life is a journey and having an illness often makes me feel like I have to stop and just give up. If I do manage to keep walking I often wonder if I am going the right way. The good news is that Jesus is our guide and He promises to be with us on this journey.

When a friend prayed for me recently, she thanked God that I was walking on the straight path. It was only then it occurred to me that yes, I am walking on the straight path even if it is slowly.

It doesn’t matter that I am walking slowly because I am going in the right direction.

I realized that those days when it is difficult to walk, that Jesus is right beside me holding my hand, and on the really bad days He is carrying me. But all the while on my journey I am moving forward.

I am reassured when I read in the Bible that He goes before me and levels the mountain and makes the crooked paths straight (Isaiah 45:2). It gives me confidence to know that He is also my rear guard, right behind me (Isaiah 52:12). This gives me great strength for the remainder of my journey knowing that He is with me every step of the way

Prayer: Lord thank You that you keep my feet on the straight path and that You are guiding me. Thank You that I am moving forward each and every day. Help me to remember that when I am struggling You are right there beside me holding my hand and on those really bad days You pick me up and You carry me. Amen.

About the Author:
Debs Edwards lives in South Wales, UK with her husband Simon and her two children aged 9 and 14. Debs has had fibromyalgia and photo aggravated roscea for just over a year. She works as a health researcher for 2 days a week at Cardiff University. She is part of the teaching team at her local church and has been able to continue with this with lighting adjustments in place. She is so thankful to God that she has been able to enjoy a deeper relationship with Him through her illness.

Where are you on your journey today? Do you need to just lean on Jesus or hold His hand? Would you like Him to pick you up and carry you for a little while?

This is Steven Curtis Chapman singing “Take Another Step.” Elisabeth Elliott is well known for saying “when you don’t know what to do, do the next thing.” It is natural to feel overwhelmed by life–especially when facing constant challenges of illness. When we know who we are in Jesus, what we want our legacy to be, it is so much easier to celebrate our small steps. -Lisa

Leave a Reply

