The Challenge of a Breathalyzer Test

IMG_5523.JPGHow did Fiona end up taking a breathalyzer test and how did the results remind her of God’s faithfulness?

“The Lord is my shepherd, I shall not be in want. He makes me lie down in green pastures, He leads me beside quiet waters, He restores my soul. He guides me in paths of righteousness for His name’s sake” (Psalm 23:1-3).

In the NLT version verse 3 says “He renews my strength.” Thinking about that, I remembered a somewhat humorous event.

It hadn’t happened in years. I was pulled over to do a random breath test at a booze bus they’d set up on a major road. I wasn’t bothered by that–I knew I’d not been drinking, so I patiently waited my turn and was courteous to the policeman when he approached me.

Unfortunately, testing me wasn’t that easy. The first time the officer told me to blow into the device, I was unable to blow for long enough. The second time, I barely managed, and if I’d had to do it a third time, I probably couldn’t have. I just struggle to have enough breath to register on their reader.

While I found it amusing that I had to try twice–and even then it was hard, it also showed how we can become used to things over time. We may not even be aware of what’s become normal for us. Until called on to do this test, I’d not considered that it was something I’d find hard to do now.

Maybe we are unaware of the strength we have, that God promises to renew in us, until we face a situation where it’s needed.

In the same way, we may forget that it is only with God’s strength that we continue to face the challenges each day brings. Those challenges are different for everyone–but God’s strength is universally what’s needed.

He restores my soul, He renews my strength–when I am weak, He is strong.

It may not be for a breathalyser test, but God is always who we can turn to when we need strength and perseverance, or just help to face another day.

Prayer: Oh God, You understand my weaknesses and promise to renew my strength when I rest with You and stop striving to do things on my own. Life with illness can have it’s challenges, but thank You that when we need help, You are always there for us. Tests and challenges may still be there, but we never face them alone. Amen.

About the Author:
Fiona Burrows lives in Melbourne, Australia. She is thankful that God walks each step of her life with her, and that He is teaching her new things as she learns to live with chronic back pain. She enjoys finding time for reading, writing, and photography, and to share those things with others. You can contact her in the Sunroom, or read more of her writing on her blog there.

When has God used some trivial event to remind you of His care for you? Do you think you’ll remember His lesson better, because of it?

This is Byron Cage singing “Thou Art a Shield for Me” with lyrics in the video. Isn’t is assuring that He specifically says in the Bible He is “a lifter of my head”? Hoping you are given His strength to get through one more day. Hugs. -Lisa

Leave a Reply

