When We Struggle to Allow Others to Help

imageIt can be so hard to ask for help? Dorothea explains what she is learning.

“His divine power has given us everything we need for life and godliness through our knowledge of Him who called us by His own glory and goodness” (2 Peter 1:3).

I don’t like to ask for help. Even when I first became ill, I gradually relinquished control of my household chores. Recently, I needed help with laundry, dishes, and meals. I told myself that I didn’t need anyone to help me.

However, my body said otherwise–my back and leg gave out, leaving me in bed and out of options. Someone else needed to do the work.

My attitude is not the best. I seek God, and He leads me to a favorite scripture (2 Corinthians 12:9-10), but I still fail to understand.

I know to ask God for help me when I have a task to do that I know I need His help with, but the new limits seem totally different.

The truth finally sinks in as I read this passage of scripture (2 Peter 1:3-11)–everything I do depends on God–not me. So, my pity-party fizzles out and I am overwhelmed. I repent.

I’m so thankful that our Lord is merciful and that He lifts us up and helps us to move forward.

Asking for help allows me to rely on God and I have to allow Him to work in my life as He sees fit. I understand that God is teaching me humility and showing me how to work with others.

The chores get completed, and I realize that others are capable, and now, I’m learning to relax and go with the flow.

“Christ’s power is the source of the believer’s sufficiency and perseverance.” John MacArthur

Prayer: Dear Lord, thank You for the family and friends who come to our aid. Give us the ability to receive their help with grace. Show us when to ask for help and don’t let us be too stubborn to accept it. Amen.

About the Author:
Dorothea Love lives in Los Angeles with her husband, Norman. They are the parents of two adult children. She has lived with chronic illness and pain for over 30 years. She knows she must rely on God’s grace to strengthen her whenever she faces a challenge. She invites you to read some of her other work on her blog: http://www.dorothealove.wordpress.com.

Do you have difficulty asking for help? Is this an area you are working on? What tips would you give others?

This is the song “Greater” with MercyMe. We may feel weak, helpless, tired, but thankfully we serve a God who doesn’t just give us platitudes of positive thoughts, but true strength and endurance through the Holy Spirit. If you are feeling beaten down today, as though the wounds refuse to heal, take a moment to watch this video and remind yourself that you aren’t in this battle of life alone. Hugs. -Lisa

Leave a Reply

