Creating a Holiday at the Sea at Home

IMG_5515.JPGDo you ever long for the sea? Kerryn has found a way to bring the joy of the sea inside her home.

“Cutting loose the anchors, they left them in the sea and at the same time untied the ropes that held the rudders. Then they hoisted the foresail to the wind and made for the beach” (Acts 27:40).

There’s something quite romantic about that verse, picturing the wind in their hair, as they excitedly headed for the beach. Experiencing the shipwreck, in the next four verses, brings the romanticism to a screeching halt! However, currently everything about the beach is luring me.

Oh, I’d love to head for the beach for a sea change holiday! I’m sure many of you would too!

While Americans are enjoying summer holidays, Aussies are staying warm indoors to avoid icy winter rains. So, a beach holiday is simply out of the question! Even if it was summer here, illnesses create a barrier to the possibilities of holidays that were once enjoyable.

That craving for a summer holiday by the seaside just wouldn’t leave me. I’m not one to give in on an idea, so I decided to create it at home.

My simple coffee table was transformed into my little beach resort with the theme “rest in Him.” Setting up this little piece of paradise was exhausting, but well worth it. Candles, water, sand, stones, a starfish, shells, butterflies, the word “rest” and a special crocheted doily were collected and displayed creatively.

sea02

sea01

As I collapsed in my recliner to view “my beach” I let out an audible sigh. It was as if I’d landed at a beach destination, ready for a new perspective, worship, prayer and a restful re-look at life.

I’m stunned at how a simple scene could give me the same sense of freedom, as wind in my hair and the delight of finding shells on the beach. No, it’s not the same, but what it releases, from deep within, are the endorphins and special memories of times past.

Lighting those candles and spending time to “rest in Him” has been a refreshing retreat.

Prayer: Lord, help me to find creative ways to spend time with You among Your creation. When I crave a “holiday”, show me ways to create a “Holy day” at home with You. Amen.

About the Author:

Kerryn Wright lives with her family among the gum trees in South Australia. She was a special education teacher prior to chronic illnesses. Her husband is carer for three of their family, who have chronic illnesses and disabilities. God has always guided them through life’s challenges, often in surprising ways.

If you’re unable to go on Summer holidays how can you create a special little nook at home that gives new perspective to refresh you? What precious memories could be displayed to brighten your day? How can you create a cozy place for retreat and prayer at home?

This is the song “Ocean” with Matt Papa. It is an acoustic version that reminds us of the power and love of our Lord Jesus. We only need to look to the ocean to remember His glory and power. The ocean is where I head to when I need renewed or reassured that God is in control. And like Kerryn, it is one of the reasons my home is decorated in a beach cottage theme. Kerryn would feel right at home. Hugs. -Lisa

One thought on “Creating a Holiday at the Sea at Home

Leave a Reply

