We are Never Alone

imageWe can feel so alone in our pain of chronic illness, but God assures us that we face nothing without Him. Welcome Debs, one of our new writers.

“But now, this is what the Lord says–He who created you, Jacob, He who formed you, Israel: ‘Do not fear, for I have redeemed you; I have summoned you by name; you are Mine. When you pass through the waters, I will be with you; and when you pass through the rivers, they will not sweep over you. When you walk through the fire, you will not be burned; the flames will not set you ablaze. For I am the Lord Your God, the Holy One of Israel, Your Savior'” (Isaiah 43:1-3a).

I have been back to both the dermatologist and rheumatologist for the results of tests and investigations this week. It has been an emotionally exhausting process which has taken nearly a year, but I finally have a diagnosis of fibromyalgia and photo-aggravated roscea.

I was reminded that God has been with me on my journey towards a diagnosis and that I have never been alone. When I look back at where I was a year ago and where I am now, I am just so thankful that He never left me.

He is such a faithful God.

There have been so many struggles along the way and so much uncertainty. I have been carrying some baggage with me–worries for the present, fears for the future, and anxieties from my past. I have spent a good part of the year trying to surrender some of this to God and it hasn’t been easy.

This verse from Isaiah has really helped me. It reminds me that whatever I am going through that He is with me.

When I go through the waters and I feel like I am drowning that He says “Fear not I am with you.” When I go through the fire and I feel like I am going to get burned He says “Fear not I am with you.”

I am never alone.

I was surprised when both consultants discharged me and said that I would be managed through my primary care physicians. I felt all alone, but then I remembered again the words “Fear not I am with you.”

The journey continues for me but I am reassured to know that God will never leave me, that He is with me today and that He will be with me tomorrow.

Prayer: Lord thank You that You are faithful and that You have promised that I will never be alone. When I am struggling with the present and fearful for the future remind me not to be afraid because You are with me. Give me a real sense of Your presence with me today. Amen.

About the Author:
Debs Edwards lives in South Wales, UK with her husband Simon and her two children aged 9 and 14. Debs has had fibromyalgia and photo aggravated roscea for just over a year. She works as a health researcher for 2 days a week at Cardiff University. She is part of the teaching team at her local church and has been able to continue with this with lighting adjustments in place. She is so thankful to God that she has been able to enjoy a deeper relationship with Him through her illness.

Do you need reassurance today that you not alone? Do you feel that the water is getting to deep? Do you feel like the fire is getting to hot?

This is Matt Redman singing “Never Once,” a reminder that though our life may hold scars of the pain we have suffered on this earth, we were never alone. He was always with us and cannot wait to eagerly spend eternity with us. -Lisa

Leave a Reply

