The Roller Coaster of Chronic Illness

IMG_5553.JPGIllness holds many ups and downs, both physically and emotionally. Karen shares about the ride.

“In His great mercy He has given us new birth into a living hope through the resurrection of Jesus Christ from the dead” (1 Peter 1:3).

We are in this for the long haul. There will be times of feeling better and times of feeling worse than we are today. These times can last for hours, days, weeks or months.

For the last several years, my fibromyalgia had been under control enough that I had been able to work part time. However, I had to have a hysterectomy six months ago. The trauma that the surgery caused to my body was enough to throw me into a flare that has lasted several months now with no signs of letting up.

With chronic illness, we always have a chance that tomorrow may hold an unexpected change in our health.

That change can mean we could feel better or worse. We live knowing that each day. That is why I never took feeling good for granted on any given day.

Now during this time of feeling so bad, I hold on to the thought that one day, this will get better. It has to. I want to get up to the high point again on this roller coaster ride.

Having a relationship with Christ brings us hope for each moment no matter what our current condition is. Hope is like faith, it isn’t based on feelings. 1 Peter 1:3 tells about this wonderful living hope.

When times are bad, I cling to this hope even tighter. I know God cares about me and my physical condition. He loves me and He sustains me when all I want to do is give up.

If you are feeling hopeless today, turn to God and renew your hope. You have hope in Christ that one day we will leave these bodies behind us and head for Heaven!

Prayer: Lord, help me to place all my trust in you. Help me not to trust in feelings, but in the truth of your Word. Help me to know that tomorrow could be a better day, but even if it’s not, You promise to see me through. Amen.

About the author:
Karen Weber lives in Kansas with her husband. She’s been living with fibromyalgia and sleep apnea for 20 years. She has a passion for encouraging others with health issues. She teaches community classes on how to live a positive life with chronic illness.

How do you get through when you feel you are losing your hope?

This song is called “Rise” with Shawn McDonald. it is based in 1 John 4:4, “Ye are of God, little children, and have overcome them; because greater is He that is in you, than He that is in the world.” The lyrics share about how we can still rise from the ashes of our life because we have the Creator on our side, caring for us. -Lisa

One thought on “The Roller Coaster of Chronic Illness

  1. Pingback: What do you want? | inSPIREdynamics

Leave a Reply

