I Feel Empty. Now What?

IMG_5541.JPGWhen your head desires action but your spirit feels empty, how do you find replenishment? Kerryn shares.

“Therefore my heart is glad and my tongue rejoices; my body also will rest in hope, because You will not abandon me to the realm of the dead, You will not let Your holy one see decay. You have made known to me the paths of life; You will fill me with joy in Your presence’” (Acts 2:26-28).

Do you feel empty? We all have times where our heart, mind, body and soul are depleted.

Some call it feeling empty, others that they’re in a desert experience. I’m not talking about depression, though it can certainly lead there.

My experience says that emptiness comes after long and intense periods of stress. Usually it’s caused by higher levels of illness over an extended period, grief upon grief, or a myriad of other causes.

That kind of emptiness hits when all of the dramas cease and we have a chance to finally stop.

It’s not easy! I’m in that place now, so I know that it’s not the time for flippant “just do this and that” comments from well-meaning friends or family. We instinctively know what is needed, but getting out of that place takes more energy than we have.

These are the times to open up honestly, to people we trust, to pray for us. Then breathe and rest.

In the past I’ve found that God shows me what to do next. It may be simple things like:

• turning off the TV and sitting near a window to watch the leaves on a tree blowing in the wind

• praying simple prayers like: “Our Father” or “Help me, Jesus” or “Come, Holy Spirit!” Words are not necessary with Jesus, He hears our heart. So don’t worry if your energy and brain won’t compute words, as He doesn’t need them.

• finding a simple, encouraging verse and dwelling on it or a pretty graphic with a verse to soak up.

Don’t pressure yourself or let the shoulds or guilts come. The enemy loves to use them to push us further down. However, Jesus is all about grace. He is a giver and will refill those empty places.

Prayer: Dear Lord, help me to “rest in hope” knowing that “You will not abandon me.” Make “known to me the paths of life” and “fill me with joy in Your presence.” Amen.

About the Author:
Kerryn Wright lives with her family among the gum trees in South Australia. She was a special education teacher prior to chronic illnesses. Her husband is carer for three of their family, who have chronic illnesses and disabilities. God has always guided them through life’s challenges, often in surprising ways.

What helps you to “rest in hope” when you’re empty? Whom do you trust to pray for you in those empty times? Do you need a visual reminder in your home that God “will not abandon me” in empty times?

We all have times when we feel empty–sometimes even for months. This is City Harmonic singing “Fell Apart” and the lyrics explain how always knows our heart and He wants to put us back together again to make us whole. Hope you are blessed by it. -Lisa

Leave a Reply

