Take My Life But Not My Faith

IMG_5529.JPGWe may not be asked to renounce our faith as some Christians are, but have you wondered if you would still cling to your faith? Fiona shares.

“But in your hearts set apart Christ as Lord. Always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. But do this with gentleness and respect” (1 Peter 3:15).

Our service closed with the “Song of Commitment” or “Consecration Hymn” as it’s sometimes called. We’d not sung it in a while. The hymn and lyrics is in the video below (at the RM website).

Our pastor often suggests “don’t sing it, if you don’t mean it.” He tells us “If you need to get something right with God, do that instead of singing empty words.”

As I sang I thought of the things that I’m no longer able to do as well as I once did, or maybe at all. How can we sing when we can no longer “do”?

But God knows us better than we know ourselves. He understands where we are and only asks us to be obedient with what we have, what we can do. There are other things in that hymn that I’m still able to do, or to give–things I can still commit to.

I found myself thinking about those Christians who have been called on to renounce their faith and speak a “commitment” to a faith or lifestyle they don’t accept. We’ve seen them in graphic videos that shock and distress us–as they are no doubt meant to do.

Faced with those circumstances, with that choice, what would I commit to? Does my faith mean more to me, than my life on earth does?

Maybe it’s easier for those who are ill to contemplate how much better things will be in heaven where there will be no more crying, no more pain. We don’t have to fear death, because it’s not the end.

God has promised us that.

The above verse calls us to “always be prepared to give a reason for your hope.” I think that includes an ultimate commitment to our faith if we were ever called to make it. To say “take my life –not my faith.”

Father God, I may not be called to renounce my faith in You today, but help me to always be prepared to share the reason for my hope, whenever there’s opportunity. I may not be able to offer all these individual things in my life anymore, but help me to commit what I have and what I still can do, for Your service. Amen.

About the Author:
Fiona Burrows lives in Melbourne, Australia. She is thankful that God walks each step of her life with her, and that He is teaching her new things as she learns to live with chronic back pain. She enjoys finding time for reading, writing, and photography, and to share those things with others. You can contact her in the Sunroom, or read more of her writing on her blog there.

Is there something you need to recommit for God’s use today? How has illness changed the way you hear or sing this song? Can you still sing it?

This is the hymn “Take My Life And Let It Be” with Francis Ridley Havergal. Enjoy this hymn that has stood the test of time. -Lisa

Leave a Reply

