How Do You Respond When You Hear the Music?

music2When life gives you music, do you respond with dancing and joy, despite your circumstances? Shelly shares.

“Hear this, you kings! Listen, you rulers! I, even I, will sing to the Lord; I will praise the Lord, the God of Israel, in song” (Judges 5:3).

One of the worst parts about chronic illness is all the medications we have to take every day. Right? I’m always trying to find a way to lessen the amount, and yet the amount increases.

My husband does a great job of keeping my medications straight every week in my AM/PM daily medication box. I bet you probably have one, too. They’re handy, aren’t they?

When we’re running out the door for a doctor appointment or out-of-town occasion, I slip the medication box into my purse, knowing I’ll need to take pills with my next meal.

A few weeks ago was just such an occasion. I got the medication box out of my purse while we were waiting in the drive-thru line. I didn’t want to forget to take the medications.

Of course, it goes without saying that we were bee-bopping along with the praise music turned up while we waited our turn in the order line. So of course I began shaking the medication box in time with the music. Did you know that a medication box makes a perfect tambourine-y, shaker-y, drum-y thing? It does.

Hubby looked sideways at me and just started laughing. He said, “Only you.”

“I beg to differ,” I replied. “If you hear the music, really hear the music, even a med box is a beat box.”

Are you bee-bopping along today? What seeming “chain” will you use to break free and dance?

Prayer: Holy God, we want only and always to praise You. Grant us joy overflowing and help us to grab hold of what seems to bind us. Shake the chains and free us to dance. We love You. In Jesus’ Name, Amen.

About the author:
Shelly Hendricks is a wife and mother of 2 amazing kids. She was a teacher and a librarian in another life. She also suffers from Intracranial Hypertension, Interstitial Cystitis, and Essential Tremor. She had brain surgery in 2012, followed by a revision in 2014, and now considers herself to be a ‘bionic woman’ who is learning to walk again. Disability has been hard to deal with, but she depends on God for all strength and hopes to encourage others on this journey, through her blog at http://reneweddaily.com

What chains will you shake and use to praise our mighty God with today?

This is Blanca singing the song “Sunshine.” This is the kind of song you can’t hear without bee-bopping a bit. She sings of whatever we are going through we can still find the joy and hope because we know Jesus. -Lisa

Leave a Reply

