Does The Presence Of God Help Us Handle The Darkness?

lightIllness comes with moments of darkness, but we can prepare by understanding the power of God’s light. Fiona shares.

“If I say, ‘Surely the darkness will hide me and the light become night around me,’ even the darkness will not be dark to you; the night will shine like the day, for darkness is as light to you” (Psalm 139:11-12).

“For God, who said, ‘Let light shine out of darkness,’ made His light shine in our hearts to give us the light of the knowledge of the glory of God in the face of Christ” (2 Corinthians 4:6).

A quote from one of our pastors that got my attention was “the presence of God changes the nature of darkness.”

It seemed good advice for those facing chronic illness. We may know our bodies, our illnesses, and symptoms. Yet we still seem to have those times when what we know seems filled with more darkness than usual–even for us.

At an Easter service some years ago, I also heard: “Trust all the darkness you feel, to the One who shatters and scatters the darkness–and breathes light and hope into our lives.”

When darkness weighs us down, do we trust more?

I think I see darkness like a tunnel I’m going through. I know God will bring me into the light again, but at the time the darkness seems overwhelming and I can forget to trust, slipping into fear.

One of the things about chronic pain is that while it never lets up completely, you can have times when the pain is better or worse. Often there’s no obvious trigger for either– it’s just part of the nature of chronic pain.

Even if I’m prepared for those times when the pain is worse, I can’t know when, where, or even how long it will affect me.

So being “in the presence of God” and in His light, will be some assurance for those times of darkness which will inevitably come around. As the Psalmist above shares, “darkness is as light to you.”

God knows about my times of darkness–and He promises there is light available in Christ.

How do I remain in His presence? I think it’s something I have to be really intentional about remembering. Ensuring that God is a part of everything I’m thinking, doing, and planning. Then He will lighten any darkness.

Prayer: Father God, thank You that You are my light and my salvation (Psalm 27:1). Help me and each one who reads this, to stay close in Your presence and allow Your light to shine into any areas of darkness we feel. For “in Your light we see light” (Psalm 36:9). Amen.

About the Author:
Fiona Burrows lives in Melbourne, Australia. She is thankful that God walks each step of her life with her, and that He is teaching her new things as she learns to live with chronic back pain. She enjoys finding time for reading, writing, and photography, and to share those things with others. You can contact her in the Sunroom, or read more of her writing on her blog there.

How are you making sure you are intentionally remaining in God’s presence? Does it help you during those times of fear or darkness to know God is your light?

This is Hawk Nelson singing “Live Like You’re Loved.” I simply love this song and the unique video that was made for it. How would you change your life if you lived like you were loved? If you darkness could all be light? -Lisa

Leave a Reply

