Can You See More with Your Eyes Closed?

eyesOur eyes always seem to show us reality, but Shelly shares how her illness provides unique light that can transform perception.

“Then Jesus told him, ‘because you have seen Me, you have believed; blessed are those who have not seen and yet have believed'” (John 20:29)>

Intracranial Hypertension causes some wicked vision issues. I so often wish I could take a snapshot or video of what I see when I close my eyes. I want to be able to share it. It can be mind-blowing.

Sometimes I just see little fireflies blinking around, or a static kind of look. That’s when my eyes are open. But when I close my eyes a whole new world opens up. I get kaleidoscopes. Or sometimes I get the old Superman movie reel effect, when the newspapers were scrolling by really fast and showing the headlines.

You’ve seen that, right? Sometimes I get fireworks. Other times it’s like a sunburst effect.

If my eyes are open in the pitch dark, it’s pitch dark. But when I close my eyes, something beautiful happens. I see a light source–like it’s coming from off to the side. Often, I open my eyes to make sure it’s not really there in real life. Nope, only when I close my eyes.

Faith is like that, too. Sometimes we see more with our eyes closed. Sometimes what we really need to do is close our eyes and seek out the light source. Sometimes we need to just walk into that kaleidoscope and stand in awe of the Maker.

“Now faith is confidence in what we hope for and assurance about what we do not see” (Hebrews 11:1). “We have this hope as an anchor for the soul, firm and secure. It enters the inner sanctuary behind the curtain” (Hebrews 6:19).

Prayer: Heavenly Father, help us to seek Your face, Your glory. Please allow us to see as we step out on faith. In Jesus’ Name, Amen.

About the author:
Shelly Hendricks is a wife and mother of 2 amazing kids. She was a teacher and a librarian in another life. She also suffers from Intracranial Hypertension and Essential Tremor. She had brain surgery in 2012, followed by a revision in 2014, and now considers herself to be a ‘bionic woman’ who is learning to walk again. Disability has been hard to deal with, but she depends on God for all strength and hopes to encourage others on this journey, through her blog at http://reneweddaily.com

How has God amazed you today? How have you stepped out in faith into His promises?

Shelly wanted to share this video with you of the song “Seeing for the First Time” with Britt Nicole. It’s a beautiful song with lyrics that share how we see so many things for the first time when we have the perspective of it through Jesus’ love and existence. When I try to consider how I would define the illness my life without Jesus on this walk beside me, I can only see pain and suffering– but not the blessings. Our “God-glasses” are such a blessing. -Lisa

Leave a Reply

