Do You Know When to Take a Break?

take-a-breakIllness can be overwhelming, so how do you break and refresh? Jackie shares.

”Come with me by yourselves to a quiet place and get some rest” (Mark 6:31).

I have “just-one-more-thing-itis!”

Before I leave the house for something I see how much I can cram in before I leave. Part of this is my compulsive bent toward getting as much done as I can in one day. Another reason is that I try to get as much done in case I have a Sjogren’s flare-up the next day and can’t do anything.

Sometimes God gets my attention in unmistakably drastic ways to let me know I really need a break.

One day I stopped to fill my gas tank. As the car was being filled, I went inside to get a snack. I came back thinking I had put the nozzle back on the pump–I hadn’t! As I pulled away, I felt a strange tug on my car. I looked back and had pulled the nozzle and hose right off the pump.

Oh my gosh, I was mortified. Fortunately no damage was done except to my ego. I never told my husband–after he reads this, he’ll know! Oops!

I can hear you men saying, “I can’t believe she did that.” And you women may be saying, “I can understand it.” Nevertheless, I realized I needed to reassess. Actually, reassessing is an ongoing process for I easily forget to take a break.

One of my favorite times of rest is spending 2-3 hours every afternoon watching TV with my husband who has frontotemporal dementia. The time is magic for us and it’s so special just be together.

My favorite fail-safe rest-producer is focusing my loving attentiveness on my Lord by reading and praying in silence one or two thirty-minute periods more or less, every day that I can.

The transformative peace and joy I experience can often lift me up for hours. It is a discipline unequaled by any other that produces such a calm knowing that He carries me every moment of every day.

Prayer: Be our rest, Lord. Still our minds, our hearts, our worries, our fears. We hold these in open hands relinquishing them to You, trusting that Your will be done. Amen.

About the author:
Jackie Smith is from Knoxville, TN near the beautiful Smoky Mountains. She struggles with Sjogren’s Disease and migraine headaches. Jackie had a bilateral mastectomy over 25 years ago. A few years ago she had her colon removed, necessitating a permanent ileostomy. She has her master’s degree in Child and Family Studies. Between her and her husband of 35 years there are 5 children and 23 grandchildren who are such joy. Jackie loves sharing the rich experiences God has lavished upon her.

Do you have built in times of rest today?

This is actually a beautiful video and the song’s lyrics are as well. It is the group Newport singing “Echo”. It’s an upbeat contemporary song but the lyrcis are all worship. I know it can be hard to rest. I use busyness to distract me from the pain. But I am trying to learn to sit more and listen for God’s voice and give Him a chance to speak. Hope this song blesses you. -Lisa

Leave a Reply

