Does My Life Have the Fingerprints of God on it?

fingerprintsDoes our life reflect the fingerprints of the Creator who made us in His image? Fiona shares.

“So God created man in His own image, in the image of God He created him; male and female He created them” (Genesis 1:27).

Recently, I’ve noticed that my hands are looking more like my mother’s or my grandmother’s. My grandmother had rheumatoid arthritis, so the swelling in her joints was noticeable. I remember she kept her hands and fingers busy doing lots of craft work, to stop them from stiffening more.

The lumps on my joints are becoming more noticeable. While I can’t say I look forward to the pain in the joints they’ve had, there is something special about being “like” them. A sense of belonging to a family.

I’ve always looked a lot like my Mum, who looks like her mother, so people are always commenting on how we must be related–though sometimes now they think Mum and I are sisters!

I found myself considering how even though I’m like members of my family in many ways, I’m also made in God’s image and part of His family, as we see in the above verse.

So, have I become noticeable as a part of God’s family–as I have being part of my earthly family?

What would be the obvious outward signs for others, that I’m part of and maturing into His family? Growing more like Him? Behaving more as He would? Seeing others as He does?

We’ve just had a sermon series about the fingerprints of God and how they show up in our lives, or what they cause us to look like. We were looking at the question of “Are the fingerprints of God all over us?”

Fingerprints are what we leave behind when we touch, or are in contact with something. Children are said to inherit the imprint of their parents.

My hands may be growing to resemble my forebears, but I want my life to reflect my relationship with God and His imprint on my life.

Prayer: As my Heavenly Father, God, I want to daily grow more like You. May my life reflect not only my earthly heritage, but shine out my relationship with You so others can see the imprint of You in my life. Amen.

About the Author:
Fiona Burrows lives in Melbourne, Australia. She is thankful that God walks each step of her life with her, and that He is teaching her new things as she learns to live with chronic back pain. She enjoys finding time for reading, writing, and photography, and to share those things with others. You can contact her in the Sunroom, or read more of her writing on her blog there.

Do you resemble someone in your family? What steps to you take to make sure you resemble your Heavenly Father too?

This is Steve Curtis Chapman singing “Fingerprints Of God”. Fiona thought it was a perfect fit for this devotional and it is a beautiful song. Steven shares in a different video how he wrote this for his daughter many years ago when she was frustrated and crying over her body because the new clothes she bought didn’t fit the way she had hoped. Fiona and I hope it reminds you of your preciousness. -Lisa

Leave a Reply

