Do You Need To Let Jesus Hold Your Spinning Plates?

spinning-platesAre your spinning plates starting to fall? Kerryn has a tip for you to find peace.

“Do not hide Your face from Your servant; answer me quickly, for I am in trouble” (Psalm 69:17).

There are times where I feel like my life is spinning out of control!

It’s like I’m trying to spin a heap of plates at once: pills, diets, finances, relationships, medical appointments, life events, energy . . . I’m sure you can add to this list!

My husband was a clown for many years. He and his clowning partner often told stories that were parable-like and had a biblical message.

One such story had china plates spinning on a plate rack. As each plate came near to tumbling off it’s rotating pole the tension in the room would build to screaming point.

It didn’t help when the clowns were scrambling around and not noticing what was happening to the plates, as they came near to toppling off! The audience didn’t want any to smash! Yet some would, as they would try to add more than they could handle. It was part of the hilarity and the build up to the message.

Recently I was sitting outside in my recliner, praying and asking God to help me juggle the many plates that were spinning and getting close to crashing.

“Answer me quickly, for I am in trouble.”

The picture God gave me helped immensely.

There I was, madly spinning plates labeled with the different things in my life. On the side, Jesus was watching me with His hands outstretched. The simple words from Him were:
“Let Me hold the plates.”

The picture continued with me handing over the plates, one at a time, saying what I was giving to Jesus. As I handed each plate over I sighed and felt lighter, calmer, and less stressed.

Isn’t this what Jesus wants to do for all of us?

So why do I think I need to do it all myself?

Prayer: Lord, help me to hand over the “plates” in my life to You. Thank You that You can manage them much better than me. Release me from the trouble I’m in, by helping me to release my grip. Amen.

About the Author:
Kerryn Wright lives with her family amongst the gum trees in South Australia. She was a special education teacher prior to chronic illnesses. Her husband is carer for three of their family, who have chronic illnesses and disabilities. God has always guided them through life’s challenges, often in surprising ways.

Why do you think you need to do it all yourself? How does this picture of Jesus taking your “plates” help you? What else do you need to release to Jesus?

This is “Steady My Heart” with Kari Jobe. The lyrics are a pretty good description of what life is like with a chronic illness . . . and a good reference of where we need to run to, who will help us with all the spinning plates. Hugs. -Lisa

One thought on “Do You Need To Let Jesus Hold Your Spinning Plates?

Leave a Reply

