The Why’s in Chronic Illness

whysDo the ‘whys’ ever overwhelm you when looking at your chronic illness? Deni shares.

“Though the fig tree does not bud and there are no grapes on the vines, though the olive crop fails and the fields produce no food, though there are no sheep in the pen and no cattle in the stalls, yet I will rejoice in the Lord, I will be joyful in God my Savior” (Habakkuk 3: 17-18).

There is a word that I’ve been hearing a lot lately.

“Why?”

I was recently diagnosed with breast cancer. There are a lot of unknowns ahead: the stage, if it’s spread, the typical things that come with needing to know the severity of the disease.

Some folks say I’ve had more than my share–

losing my daughter and her unborn baby in a brutal–and as of 10 years–unsolved murder.

A car accident, a stroke, surviving a cardiac arrest are the recent events.

I’m pretty much stuck in a hospital bed and my family asks God why.

My friends ask the same question.

“You’ve had more than any other woman I’ve known.”
“It’s not fair.”
“You’ve too much on your plate already.”

Why?

I guess I’m the odd duck. I look around and say, “Why not me? Why someone else?”

I think of the faith this current challenge is bringing forth from me, and I marvel. God has been preparing me for this for a long time.

The funny part?

It’s all okay.

Yeah, I know, it’s gonna get harder and more challenging. But I also believe my faith will only grow stronger and my walking in Christ closer. I’ve never felt more loved in my life than I do right now. So tenderly cared for. So blessed.

As to the future? Well, all of our futures are uncertain ones.

Except for one thing.

God is at the other end of this journey, no matter how long it takes and He is waiting with open arms. And I know why.

Because He loves me. Just as He loves you.

(Oh, and we are not the only ones to ask this question. The word “why” appears 391 times in the NASB!)

Oh how he loves you and me.

Prayer: Father God, Thank You that, even when we don’t understand the “why” behind the events of our lives, we can always trust that You are guiding us ever closer to You–which is right where we belong. Amen and amen.

About the author:
Deni believes that the only true way to deal with physical and emotional pain is to bring them to the feet of her Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ. A psychologist by profession, disability forced her into an early retirement from a field she loved. She shares insights she has gleaned from her many physical challenges, as well from as dealing with the emotional challenge of the brutal deal of her adult daughter in 2005 and the loss of her mother, brother, and husband in 2013. It is her fondest prayers that some of the lessons she has faced might be helpful to you as you walk this path, encouraging you to replace feelings of discouragement, hopelessness and helplessness with those of encouragement, hope, and ultimately, joy. Her website is http://todaysencouragingwordonline.com .

Deni thought that you would enjoy this video, “Oh How He Loves You and Me” with by Wanda Geddie Brickner & Kurt Kaiser. It is lovely and I think it will encourage you today–no matter what you are going through. -Lisa

One thought on “The Why’s in Chronic Illness

  1. Thank you for making me feel so encouraged by your post, Deni!
    I haven’t ever asked God ‘why?’ (it just hasn’t occurred to me, it’s possible only the very intelligent ask this *smile*), but I know many who have, and how not knowing the ‘why?’ has affected their state of mind. Yes, you have gone through more than ten people put together have, and my heart goes out to you. Please know I am praying for less pain for more, and more joy-filled moments in your day. Love you very much. Linda

Leave a Reply

