Keeping Focus on Jesus During Hard Times

hard-timesWhen hard times hit how do you feed your soul so you can avoid bitterness? Sandi shares.

“’Lord, if it is you,’ Peter replied, ‘tell me to come to you on the water.’ ‘Come,” [Jesus] said. Then Peter got down out of the boat, walked on the water and came to Jesus. But when he saw the wind, he was afraid and beginning to sink, cried out, ‘Lord save me!’ Immediately Jesus reached out His hand and caught him. ‘You of little faith,’ He said, ‘Why did you doubt?” (Matthew 14:28-31).

I had just about had enough! On top of my many usual health problems, I had the awful experience of having shingles. In fact, I experienced them from before Christmas until the first of March. I was basically in bed for months and I was itching, hurting, or running a fever–sometimes all three at once.

When you factor in the stress of shingles causing my other health problems to flare up, you have a miserable person!

Remember the old hymn: “Turn Your Eyes Upon Jesus”?

The chorus goes like this:

Turn your eyes upon Jesus.
Look full in His wonderful face;
and the things of the earth will grow strangely dim,
in the light of His glory and grace.

I will fearlessly say that if I didn’t keep my eyes on Jesus during my illness I would have become so down. I surrounded myself with quiet, uplifting music, for the days I needed to be still. I have the New Testament on cassette tape to feed myself spiritually, and when I improved some I had good books and programs on TV.

Keeping my eyes on Jesus kept my spirit lifted up. It kept my focus on Jesus, and off the wind and waves of my pain and disabilities. It enabled lightheartedness which aided in my recovery.

I won’t say I was a perfect patient. There were days I whined, fussed, and acted like a brat. But I realized that those days were awful for me and those that helped take care of me.

The days I kept my eyes on Jesus were easier to live through–and much better for my caregivers too. It quickly became obvious where my vision was in the endless days of shingles. I learned a lot about walking with God.

Prayer: Father thank You for all that I learned. Help me to remember and use it to bless others. I am so thankful that I can keep my eyes on You, and have victory over the wind and waves through trusting in You. Amen.

About the Author:
Sandra Platt has been a writer for Rest Ministries since 2006.She has been the wife of a Pastor for 33 years and has 2 young adult kids. She loves to read, bake, and be involved with her church family. She has had fibromyalgia for 26 years and now has numerous other chronic health problems, and is in a wheelchair. Her prayer is this, “May the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart be pleasing in Your sight, O Lord, my Rock and my Redeemer.” Psalm 19:14

How do you feed your soul to avoid becoming a miserable person? Are you intentional about surrounding yourself with specific things, friends, activities?

Michael W. Smith is one of my favorites and in this video he singins the hymn Sandi speaks of “Turn Your Eyes Upon Jesus.” I hope it blessed you and that you are able to just block out the world for a few minutes. I know I need to. -Lisa

Leave a Reply

