Are You Secure in God’s Mission for Your Life?

missionWhen someone doesn’t respond to your pain in the way you would prefer, do you remain confident of God’s mission?

“What do you say about yourself?” (John 1:22).

Recently, I reconnected a good friend, who I hadn’t seen in several years. Our communication was sporadic, and she was not aware of my current health issues. When she asked me how I was doing, I paused.

What should I say?

I hesitated because of the hurt I have dealt with when I had to limit my involvement at church. A lot of people didn’t understand chronic illness and thought “faith” was all I needed. It has made me cautious when I talk about my challenges.

My fears proved to be unfounded.

My friend was compassionate, wanting to understand the things I faced. She didn’t shun me or belittle my walk with God, she said she found hope. My life gave her proof that God would sustain her if she ever faced a physical challenge.

I know what God does in my life each day. He keeps, guides, loves, strengthens, and provides for me.

Why do I feel defensive, fearful, or hurt when my trust is questioned?

I love this passage (John 1:19-28) about John the Baptist. He was confident in his mission and didn’t get offended when people questioned his work.

Will I ever feel secure about who I am and how my life is going at this point? Can I can bear the questions and scrutiny, without getting flustered?

I think the answer lies in my focus. When I focus on God, it is easier for me to trust Him. And my trust in Him allows others see His glory instead of my illness, His mercy instead of my pain, and His love instead of my shortcomings.

No matter what you face, keep your confidence in God. He, alone, has the power to strengthen you and uplift you.

Prayer: Dear Lord, give is the courage to trust You, to seek Your will for our lives, and not to be ashamed of the way You created us. As we interact with others, may Your power and love be displayed in our lives. Amen.

About the Author:
Dorothea Love lives in Los Angeles with her husband, Norman. They are the parents of two adult children. She has lived with chronic illness and pain for over 30 years. She knows she must rely on God’s grace to strengthen her whenever she faces a challenge. She invites you to read some of her other work on her blog: http://www.dorothealove.wordpress.com.

Have you ever felt surprised when someone responded to your pain with compassion or understanding?

This is Sidewalk Prophets singing the song “Save My Life.” I am sure the lyrics will apply to many circumstances in your life. just like the right words are precious to us, so too are our words precious to another. Hope you like it. -Lisa

Leave a Reply

