Ugh. . . Another Day

ughMost of us feel those “ughs” each day, but can we remember to find the blessings in the challenges? Jackie shares.

“I remember my affliction and my wandering, the bitterness and the gall. I well remember them, and my soul is downcast within me. Yet this I call to mind and therefore I have hope: Because of the Lord’s great love we are not consumed, for His compassions never fail. They are new every morning; great is Your faithfulness” (Lamentations 3:19-23).

Ugh . . . Another morning. (deep sigh).
Be grateful that you have another morning to sigh.

Ugh . . . I really don’t want to open my eyes and face another day of pain.
Be thankful that you can open your eyes and see.

Ugh . . . I just want to roll over and stay under the covers.
It’s a blessing to have a warm bed and covers.

Ugh . . . I don’t think I have the strength to sit up and put my feet on the floor.
Don’t think; trust God for the strength.

Ugh . . . Everything aches as I begin my walk to the bathroom.
Take your time, one step at a time…at least you are moving forward.

Ugh . . . I don’t know if I have the energy to take a shower.
The warmth of the shower will feel good on your aching bones and joints. Be grateful you have a warm shower.

Ugh . . . What should I wear today, especially since I’ve gained or lost weight?
Be thankful that you have enough clothing that you have a choice.

Ugh . . . I have so many vitamins, minerals, tinctures, and potions I have to take every morning!
Be grateful there are prescription meds and supplements that can support your immune system and bring other benefits to your mind and body.

Ugh . . . What should I eat for breakfast that won’t upset my stomach?
Be thankful you have a choice in the food you eat, or that you can have the same food every morning.

Ugh . . . I don’t have the energy to pray or read the Bible.
God knows and understands. Praise Him for his strength, and ask Him to show you His presence each day.

Ugh . . . I have brain fog and don’t know if I can function at work.
Be grateful you have work, make a list of tasks to be done, and draw on God’s strength and wisdom for the day.

Ugh . . . What am I going to make for my family for dinner?
Sometimes having a bowl of cereal or a can of soup is okay. Ask your family for ideas and then ask them to help you get dinner ready.

Ugh . . . I should pay bills, check my email, or help my kids with homework.
Be thankful you have choices of things to do; pick one that you can do and leave the rest for another night.

Ugh . . . It’s time for bed. Another sleepless night?
Other than waking up, this can be the toughest part of your day. Can you consider it a blessing to use your sleepless time to pray…for yourself and others? Or be grateful for that heating pad or those sleeping meds/supplements that can bring sleep.

Ugh . . . Another morning.
Feel blessed that you have another morning and can begin again.

Prayer: Dear God, thank You that Your mercies are new each morning, and that we can trust in that promise. When I am frustrated, sad, sleepless, or in pain, please help me to know Your great love for me and see those mercies. Amen.

About the Author:
Jackie Confalone lives in Pennsylvania with her “groom” of 34 years, Gary, and goes through this thought process many days. She “lives” with three invisible illnesses, Ulcerative Colitis, Endometriosis, and Late Stage Lyme Disease, and each family member has at least one chronic illness. She feels blessed that God uses her experiences to help others with chronic illness. She maintains a blog called Jackie’s Heart at http://jackieconfalone.wordpress.com/.

Every time that your “soul is downcast within you” and you want to say ugh, can you instead ask God to show you a new mercy each day?

We all have days when we want to throw a pity party, but don’t get stuck there. Can’t find a reason to be grateful? That is what God’s strength and mercy is for! Ask Him! This is Hezekiah Walker singing “Grateful.” Did you know I was in a Black Gospel Choir in college at the University of Oregon? I still love all the gospels that get right to the heart of the matter! -Lisa

Leave a Reply

