Living Significantly as the Salt of the Earth

saltHow can we be salt in this world when our illness limits our world? Bronlynn shares.

“You are the salt of the earth” (Matthew 5:13).

I have been battling a virus for several weeks now. A neighbor was kind enough to bring me some soup, but when I tasted it, it was missing something–salt.

Salt has at least three purposes. It brings out the flavor in foods, like my soup. It preserves, keeping food from spoilage and decay. It purifies and heals.

As Christians, we are called to be salt in the world.

My life seems very insignificant and limited. How can I possibly be salt? But Jesus says I already am.

I can flavor the lives of people around me with encouraging words and God’s love. I can share the hope I have of an eternal body free from decay. I can share the healing God brings to my soul, even through my suffering.

I can sprinkle salt through email, regular mail, Facebook, medical offices, support groups, or individually in person. I can do it through prayer and praise.

In one of Charles Stanley’s devotional booklets, Winn Collier wrote the following:

“I am amazed by the simple lives I encounter–people living in quiet ways, often unhurried and unnoticed, as they seek to devote themselves to the way of Jesus and be loyal to the kingdom of God. With our zealous addiction to gusto and our fascination with brilliance, we often forget . . . it is ordinary faithfulness–ordinary presence–that makes the deepest impact.”

Yes, I live an ordinary and sometimes very contained life. But God has given me a sphere of influence, and He created me to be salt in it. Even in my pain and problems I have purpose–to sprinkle the world with the gift of Jesus–and that’s pretty significant.

Prayer: O Lord, thank You for giving me significance in Your kingdom, and let me not miss the opportunities You give me to flavor my world with the knowledge of You. Amen.

About the author:
Bronlynn Spindler lives in North Carolina and is blessed to have the support and encouragement of a wonderful husband, three daughters, and their husbands. God’s grace and strength have brought her through thyroid cancer and continue to sustain her through ongoing back pain, depression, headaches, multiple sensitivities, and fibromyalgia. You may view her blog of devotionals at http://www.aplaceofsprings57.blogspot.com.

Can you think of one person to whom you can be salt today? How will you do it?

Take a moment to read Lisa’s thoughts about the need for salt!
This video is actually a beautiful tribute video for our troops, along with the song “You Put the Fight in Me” with Scott Krippayne. I think you will relate to the lyrics, however, as it speaks of “whatever your battle is…” We are called to be the salt of the earth. And although many of you don’t want to read here about terrorists and persecutions around the world, deaths and slavery, it is heavy on my heart more than ever before.

I have a sense of desperation to share about the salvation Jesus offers and being that salt is getting harder and harder to do–in any country. I hope the video blesses you. As you watch, consider not just your own battle with illness but the spiritual battle of we as Christians are in–and pray for God to give you opportunity to season the lives of those around you. -Lisa

One thought on “Living Significantly as the Salt of the Earth

  1. Pingback: Obeying God – Devotional – March 24, 2015

Leave a Reply

