Why Isn’t God Strengthening My Body?

Do you wonder why God isn’t strengthening you so you can be assured about the future? Bridget explains.

“The Lord will guide you always; He will satisfy your needs in a sun-scorched land and will strengthen your frame. You will be like a well-watered garden, like a spring whose waters never fail” (Isaiah 58:11).

strengthenThis is not what I wanted to hear. God, why do things have to keep getting worse instead of better?

My thoughts were floating in a million different directions as I looked over my recent X-ray results. Not only is my arthritis getting worse in my neck, back, and SI joints, but is slowly spreading throughout my entire body–to my hands, jaw, neck, hips, and front of the pelvis.

A few days later I talked to my counselor about it and realized just how scared I was. I tend to expect the worst in situations instead of seeing what the situation really is here and now. My arthritis is only “mild” at this point and with exercise and better eating habits I may be able to prolong more severe physical limitations down the road . . . maybe.

But as I left the counselor’s office I did worry about my future–especially as a single, chronically ill person. I am so grateful that I can still work full-time and do some ministry work. But will I be able to do this in ten years? Will I be able to provide for myself down the road? What are my physical limitations going to be?

My counselor is good about reminding me to trust God and not look too far ahead. As I was reading the Word that day, Isaiah 58 stopped me in my tracks–I couldn’t believe what I was reading.

God will guide me. He will satisfy my needs. He will strengthen my frame (another version says “bones.” Wow!).

I am not going to have to worry about providing for myself. Just like God provides for me now, He will provide for me in the future. He alone will strengthen my bones when I feel weak. He will help me do what I need to do.

I sat in tears as I let God refresh my soul and lift my spirit. What a wonderful reminder that God has all the details under control.

I hope this passage encourages you today. May you rest in God’s capable hands.

Prayer: Dear God, it is so hard to not worry about tomorrow when so much is uncertain. But Father God, You hold our lives in Your gentle hands. Help us to leave our worries and troubles in Your care. Amen.

<em Bridget Gazlay resides in beautiful West Michigan. She struggles with fibromyalgia, endometriosis, IBS, kidney stones, gastroparesis, arthritis and migraines. She works full time, but writes and designs fabric art on the side. Find out more about Bridget by checking out her Facebook page, Uniquely Fabric- Bridget Gazlay. You can email her at: quiltforhim@yahoo.com .

What verse encourages you about the future?

This is Cody Sloan singing, “I’m Yours.” It is a quiet, beautiful song that sings praises to God that we are His. We trust Him. We know He loves us. And whatever He throws our way, we know that these traits about Him will never change. Enjoy and know that He has it all in His hands. -Lisa

Leave a Reply

