I Have Had Enough, God! (What Will He Say?)

enoughWhen we have had enough of the burdens in life, how does God respond to our frustrations? Vicki shares.

“While he [Elijah] himself went a day’s journey into the wilderness. He came to a broom bush, sat down under it, and prayed that he might die. ‘I have had enough, Lord,’ he said. ‘Take my life; I am no better than my ancestors'” (1 Kings 19:4).

Do all Christians get fed up? Does everyone reach their limit? How long can a person live with pain or illness?

A friend of mine has been undergoing treatments for cancer. Just when he was about to celebrate the end of his treatments, tests revealed more cancer. That was like moving the finish line farther away. He faced a true test of his faith.

I’ve also felt the blows of bombarding burdens. Two years after I got diagnosed with multiple sclerosis (MS), while still trying to work full-time, I learned I had an additional condition: Osteomalacia. Symptoms included bone pain. As if I needed more pain! As if teaching with MS wasn’t hard enough.

I wanted to declare, “I’ve reached the end of my limit!” It wasn’t like I wanted to cry, “Uncle!” to let a tickler know my sides ached from laughing.

I felt the need to cry, “Enough! No more tests! No more pain! I can’t hold onto my faith much longer.”

My weary soul ached to pronounce surrender.

But what would God think if I demanded an end to my trials? Would He answer with His “enough” statement? “Vicki, I’ve had enough of your whining and faltering faith!”

It comforts me to know God dealt gently with Elijah when he cried, “I’ve had enough, Lord.”

Does Elijah’s cry of discouragement match yours? Reflect on the message of the story:

Elijah had fled Jezebel who sought to kill him. He escaped and journeyed into the wilderness. And headed for Horeb, the mountain of God. Hidden in a cave, he felt all alone. But God met him there.

1 Kings 19: 3-18 illustrates God’s long-suffering and care. God fed Elijah. He conversed with him, encouraged him, and provided helpers.

In your never-ending journey, head for God. Find rest in Him.

Prayer: Dear Father, when the pantry of my spirit contains smaller amounts of faith and trust, replenish my supply. Fill me afresh with greater trust. Increase my faith. As You spoke to Elijah, speak to me. Help me hear Your still small voice telling me what to do. Silence any other voices in my head that tell me lies about my value. Remind me that You gave Your only Son to die for me. And help me focus on the treasures in heaven that await me because of Christ’s blood. In Jesus’ precious name, Amen.

About the Author:
Vicki understands special needs as a patient, parent, and professor. She has had multiple sclerosis since 1993. Her 33 year old son was diagnosed with schizoaffective disorder and attention deficit hyperactivity disorder. She’s taught special education as a teacher, administrator, and adjunct professor. Through her blog, she reaches out to other mothers of children with mental illness. http://mentalillnessmom2mom.net/
Vicki wrote a picture book about bullying: Heart Eyes: Beth and the Bullies. You can find out more about that book by visiting her Heart Eyes website: http://www.hearteyes.net

Has an unlikely story from the Old Testament encouraged you? Share the passage and message.

This is Brooke Fraser singing “Scarlett” and the lyrics share that feeling we have of just wanting to get away from it all–even if that all resides within us. I have had many moments when I have asked God why He allows burdens to be stacked on top of one another–in the lives of many of you–and sometimes my own. I don’t always get answers, but I do trust He knows what He is doing. He hasn’t failed me yet. -Lisa

Leave a Reply

