How Am I God’s ‘Very Good’ Workmanship?

workmanshipWhen you consider God’s workmanship, is it difficult to acknowledge yourself? Lynn explains in her prayer to God.

“For we are God’s handiwork” (Ephesians 2:10a). “. . . when God created man in His image to rule over all else that was created, God saw all that He had made, and it was very good” (Genesis 1:31a).

I sit here in my home, weak in body but seeking You, Lord. I am Your workmanship, looking through a maze too full of how I feel to see clearly the truth of what You say.

What is your “workmanship” that is “me” and that has become the relationship that is “us”? You don’t focus on my weaknesses in body or mind, although You hear and honor my prayer cries as they come to You.

Is Your image slowly unfolding, much as the old style of a film negative needed to sit in transforming fluid until the clearer photo image came to full clarity? The fluids of pain and wonderings do not diminish You at work in my life.

“I will instruct you and teach you in the way you should go; I will counsel you with my loving eye on you” (Psalm 32:8).

It is in the stillness of trusting and believing You that becomes my part in this creation that is “us.” You are depending on me to look at Your workmanship and call it “very good.”

If I look at the negatives that can pound so hard, I will fail to believe–and sometimes see–the image You are unfolding. I will miss out on these present moments when You want to instruct and lead me.

First, You created what You called, “very good” and next You have been instructing me on the paths where we journey together.

When You spoke, “It was very good” it was me that You referenced. Greater than sky, sun, and the beauty of each flower–though great workmanships of Your hands–is the image of You that You placed within me when those words erupted.

If I lie still in Your transforming living waters it is there where I will thrive–no matter my feelings. And the initial “it was very good” will one day become the very best You have seen from my beginnings.

Prayer: Lord, thank You that You saw fit to create me for Your purposes. They are there to be discovered and will emerge with clarity as I keep my eyes on You. Amen.

About the Author:
Lynn Severance is a retired elementary classroom teacher. Since 1983, she has lived with vestibular dysfunction: constant dizziness, sessions of vertigo and related side effects of nausea, balance problems, neck and back pain, visual tracking and eye fatigue. She is a breast cancer survivor having gone through surgery and chemotherapy treatments in 1987-88. She lives in Lynnwood, Washington. Do visit her blog at http://lynn-severance.blogspot.com

How do you refocus to God’s truth that when He formed You, He desired You to see yourself as his workmanship, one loved and of the highest value to Him?

Lynn suggested this song and video and shares these thoughts: “Take some time to meditate on how ‘Wonderfully Made’ you are as this lilting song from the Scripture Lullabies series brings you many reminders.” We hope it remind you of your preciousness–right now, today. -Lisa

Leave a Reply

