How to Have a Bigger, More Youthful Life (When Ill

lifeHas your illness aged you and made life shrink? Bronlynn shares.

“Praise the Lord, O my soul. . . who satisfies your desires with good things so that your youth is renewed like the eagle’s” (Psalm 103:1,5).

Does pain seem to age you? I feel it does. I once took a test in a magazine to determine whether I seemed older than my chronological age, and I scored ten years ahead of my current age. That was somewhat depressing!

In Charles Stanley’s January devotional booklet, he gives three suggestions for maintaining a youthful attitude–laughing, longing, and leaning.

My husband is very good at laughing about his essential tremor. He jokes about some of the problems it causes and doesn’t let it rob him of his sense of humor. Scripture even says that a cheerful heart is a good medicine (Proverbs 17:22).

We should keep longing–having goals and dreams that we continue to work toward as much as possible, rather than just watching the world go by. Right now I am pursuing starting a pain support group in our new town.

Part of me is afraid to try because of my health issues, but if this is God’s will, He will give me the strength and ability to do it.

Finally, we are to keep leaning on God. We can do nothing on our own, even if we are healthy. All that we are and do is a gift from God. When we continually maintain our trust in Him, we can live our lives as fully as we were meant to live them, despite our weaknesses and limitations.

I know my body is aging, and in one sense I don’t mind that, because it means I’m getting closer to my heavenly home. But as long as I’m here, laughing, longing, and leaning are great suggestions for feeling younger and brighter and cost nothing but a willing attitude.

Prayer: Dear Lord, You know how my pain can rob me of a bright and youthful outlook on life. It is so easy for me to feel old in heart and spirit as well as body. Teach me to laugh more, to long and look for ways to serve You in my current condition, and to lean on You at all times. And as I do, please use me to brighten the lives of others. Amen.

About the author:
Bronlynn Spindler lives in North Carolina and is blessed to have the support and encouragement of a wonderful husband, three daughters, and their husbands. God’s grace and strength have brought her through thyroid cancer and continue to sustain her through ongoing back pain, depression, headaches, multiple sensitivities, and fibromyalgia. You may view her blog of devotionals at http://www.aplaceofsprings57.blogspot.com.

Do you feel your health problems are aging you in outlook and attitude? How can you incorporate more laughter into your life? How could you step out in faith and seek God’s direction on a new goal He may be calling you to pursue?

Have you put a bigger life on hold, becoming content with a smaller life? God desires us to be content in our circumstances, but He doesn’t want us to have a small life. Regardless of how limited we may be, He can give us big hopes, big dreams . . . a big life spreading the word about His faithfulness and feeling His presence and joy. This is Jamie Grace singing “Do Life Big.” Consider if you have room to grow a bigger life. -Lisa

Leave a Reply

