What is Better Than Life?

imageIllness can bring grief because it feels like we are losing parts of life. Shelly shares.

“In Him was life, and that life was the light of all mankind” (John 1:4).

Life.

Just the word holds hope, doesn’t it? It makes us think of green and sturdy things. New beginnings and fresh air. Dawn and continuance and good.

I think that’s part of what is so difficult about walking this chronic illness journey. It doesn’t feel like life most days, does it?

It makes it all too easy to look back, to long for, to feel discontent.

I was thinking about this today when I found this verse:

”Because Your love is better than life, my lips will glorify You” (Psalm 63:3).

What is more attractive than green and sturdy? The mercy of our Father.

What is more wonderful that new beginnings and fresh air? The hope we find in Jesus.

What is greater than dawn and continuance and good? The goodness of His grace.

What is better than life? Your love.

I have all of these things through the blood of Jesus. I already have in my possession things that are more glorious than the life for which I long.

And so . . .

”I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty. I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want. I can do all this through Him who gives me strength” (Philippians 4:12-13).

Prayer: Father God, help me to focus much more on how rich I am in You than on the things that I lack. Thank You for my life and for Your promises that give me hope. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

About the author:
Shelly Hendricks is a wife and mother of 2 amazing kids. She was a teacher and a librarian in another life. She also suffers from Intracranial Hypertension and Essential Tremor. She had brain surgery in 2012 and a revision in 2014, and now considers herself to be a ‘bionic woman’ who is learning to walk again. Disability has been hard to deal with, but she depends on God for all strength and hopes to encourage others on this journey, through her blog at http://reneweddaily.com

What do you struggle with that you can hand to the Lord today, knowing that He holds better?

Even if we know the scripture about how we must lose our life to save it, it is still hard to wrap our brain around at times. This song “Beleiver” by Audio Adrenaline was chosen for you by Shelly. It speaks of how we can give our life over to Jesus day after day as we ask Him to show us how to give it up so we can fully find the freedom in Christ. Hugs, -Lisa

Leave a Reply

