Keeping Pain in Perspective

imageHow can we keep a healthy perspective on suffering by focusing on what God has planned? Julie shares.

“I saw heaven standing open and there before me was a white horse, whose rider is called Faithful and True . . . On his robe and on his thigh he has this name written: King of Kings and Lord of Lords” (Revelation 19:11,16).

When I was just a teenager, I dreamed about the man who would be my knight, who would come into my life on a white horse and whisk me away to my happily ever after. I met my future husband at a church Christmas party and all I could see as I looked at him was that knight on a white horse I had been dreaming of.

What a wonderful feeling that was! I was so happy, and it seemed nothing bad going on in life mattered, because my knight was by my side. He was absolutely perfect, and I couldn’t see any flaws in him.

We have now been married for 37 years, and over those years, I have found that my knight is not quite perfect! And although we are very happy together, life has not been the perfect happily ever after I dreamed about. I have realized no man or woman can live up to that image of perfection on a white horse.

In the above verses in Revelation, we see that the only One who can fulfill that happily ever after is Jesus, King of Kings and Lord of Lords, who will ride in on a white horse and whisk us away to a happily ever after. What joy! What a wonderful feeling that will be!

Nothing else in life does matter if we look to that Knight and have Him by our side. He IS absolutely perfect, and there are no flaws in Him.

Jesus is my Rescuer, my Defender, my Hope and my Knight. And one day He will come for me on His white horse and deliver me from all of my troubles!

Prayer: Lord, You alone can deliver me from the sadness and worries of this world. Help me to seek only You, and not to look at others to replace what only You can do. I look forward to the day when You come on Your white horse and claim me as Your own to live forever with You. Amen.

About the author:
Julie Buckley was diagnosed with mixed connective tissue disease in 1995 (scleroderma, rheumatoid arthritis, lupus and polymyositis) along with fibromyalgia. She lives in the midwest with her husband and has a grown son. She also has a blog site called “Healthy Souls,” which encourages Christians to grow stronger through their physical weakness, http://jabuckle.wordpress.com/

Are you replacing Jesus with someone on earth to be your deliverer?

This is the group Needtobreath and they are singing an acoustic version of their song, “More Heart, Less Attack.” They lyrics speak of how no matter what pain God allows to come into our lives, we can still rely on Him and refuse to allow it to define us or slow us down from His will. Hoping it blesses you. -Lisa

Leave a Reply

