When the Reality of Illness Smashes Again

imageEven when you have good days, does the cruelty of reality come to soon? Kerryn explains.

“Your words have supported those who stumbled; you have strengthened faltering knees” (Job 4:4).

Coming smash bang into reality really isn’t fun, but sometimes it’s necessary to be redirected!

Recently I’ve had some tiny improvements in my health. My thoughts were running away with idyllic plans to do wonderful things in a healthy future that actually didn’t exist yet. I hadn’t prayed about these ideas, as I was so excited my mind was running rampant.

Suddenly, I found myself looking into the distance when I came smash bang into reality again–literally! Looking at where I wanted to go outside I didn’t see the glass sliding door that hadn’t been shut all day, but was now! Yep, you guessed it! My nose hit it at full pelt causing a loud scream, stars, pain and stumbling to the ground with faltering knees.

Interesting colors adorn my eyes and nose with it being slightly crooked now. Yet what I’ve seen through my reflection upon this incident was much deeper than the shade around my eyes!

I was looking to the distance without a thought of reality with illnesses. Most importantly though, I wasn’t even taking these thoughts to the Lord, or His Word, to check what He wanted to say about it.

It’s so easy to want to do things our own way, but God truly does know what’s best for us over time.

Re-watching “The Bible” series has reiterated the importance of this lesson for me. Seeing many famous men and women of God planning things their own way caused them to come crashing back to the reality of what they’d created. Each time it caused suffering, not only to themselves, but to those around them with major ramifications. I don’t want that! So it’s time to refocus on God, not on an uncertain future that can be manifested in my mind!

Prayer: Lord, direct my thoughts for a future that is best for me and all those around me. When I start planning, help me to do it with You and not on my own. Amen.

About the Author:
Kerryn Wright lives with her family amongst the gum trees in South Australia. She was a special education teacher prior to chronic illnesses. Her husband is carer for three of their family, who have chronic illnesses and disabilities. God has always guided them through life’s challenges, often in surprising ways.

What can cause you to run off with thoughts of your own? Which particular Bible characters, and their stories, remind you to stay close to God?

Oh, I can relate to Kerryn’s words. This song, “Who You Are” by the group Unspoken is a great reminder that we can never fall too hard, run too far away, for .god to be there for us. I think this is a beautiful song, and as I read Kerryn’s word and the scripture this song seemed a good fit. Hope it blesses you, -Lisa

One thought on “When the Reality of Illness Smashes Again

  1. Thanks for the song Lisa. Unfortunately my computer isn’t allowing it. Will get my eldest son to help me listen to it soon. Thanks again for all of the effort you go to in choosing songs to relate. God bless. Lotsoluv Kerryn ♥

Leave a Reply

