Are You Chasing Normal?

imageDo you feel like you are the exception to the rule, different than normal? Fiona shares.

“I have seen all the things that are done under the sun; all of them are meaningless, a chasing after the wind” (Ecclesiastes 1:14).

My physiotherapist, who has been treating me for years, says we never use the word “normal” to describe anything in relation to my abilities. While we laugh about it, we both know that my body doesn’t often respond in ways that are what’s normally expected.

I think that I’ve accepted what life is for me. I have recognized that I’m living with pain and the problems it’s caused for me–but sometimes I still aspire to be something I’m not and probably won’t be this side of heaven.

It can seem like I’m running and pushing all the time to be normal. Trying to be like “normal” people, to do things I can’t do, or be what I can’t really be. I am even trying to get back to what was normal for me last year.

What is normal anyway?

Normal can’t be the same for everyone and God made each of us to be individuals. Max Lucado ways, “God promises to render beauty out of ‘all things,’ not ‘each thing.’ The ultimate culmination is good.”*

If I believe God has a purpose in all things–not each thing as Max Lucado reminds me–then why am I striving for something else? Isn’t God enough for me?

It seems I come to this point often. I can look back at the past, the times I’ve struggled, and the things I’ve thought I’d learned from these times. If God was there–and He was–teaching and training me, why do I need to learn it all over again . . . and again?

I should be able to hold on to the promise that one day “all our strivings cease.” I should be able to stop striving–stop chasing normal–and rest in Him.

God accepts me just as I am so I need to accept it too. Whatever normal is for me–it’s okay.

Prayer: Father God, help me, and all who read this, to know that You love us just as we are, whether that is what others see as normal or not. Help us to trust in what we’ve learned about You and about ourselves, from the challenges You’ve brought us through over the years. May we stop chasing other meaningless things and draw closer to You, for surely that’s what matters most. Amen.

* From You’ll Get Through This by Max Lucado © 2013

About the Author:
Fiona Burrows lives in Melbourne, Australia. She is thankful that God walks each step of her life with her, and that He is teaching her new things as she learns to live with chronic back pain. She enjoys finding time for reading, writing, and photography, and to share those things with others. You can contact her in the Sunroom, or read more of her writing on her blog there.

Have there been times when you have been chasing normal in your life, or when you wished you were normal? Does knowing God loves you just as you are, help you accept when things are not normal?

This is Jamie Grace signing “Come to Me” and it is a beautiful song based on the same verse Rest Ministries is, Matthew 11:28. I hope this upbeat but comforting tune gives you some comfort as well as a bit of a spring in your step (her music does that to me). Hold on. Rest. It is okay. -Lisa

Leave a Reply

