What is Controlling Your Thought Life?

imageCan God change your thought life if you surrender it to Him? Diane shares.

“Like a city whose walls are broken through, is a person who lacks self-control” (Proverbs: 25:28).

Do you ever battle with your thought life? You know the non-ending “what if” questions that pops into your brain when you’re waiting on answers?

Recently this has been an ongoing struggle for me. I found myself allowing overwhelming thoughts and fears to take over.

Soon I started recognizing a pattern: a problem or circumstance would present itself, and immediately my mind hoped right on over to the worst scenario! Does that happen to you?

Well, as always God in His gentle way started nudging me and pointed out this flaw in my thought life. I quickly asked for forgiveness, but asked, “Lord how do I battle this?”

The first thing He showed me was it wasn’t just an issue of fear, but also a matter of self-control.

I was quite surprised by that answer! He showed me that in order to battle that fear, I first needed to give Him total control of my thought life! Wow, so simple yet often a challenge for me.

I sometimes forget that He is the one with the perfect plan, and can see the big picture, while I can only see the present and the now.

He continued to show me, through other scriptures, like the one above, that when I have those circumstances and thoughts pop up, I need to utilize the gift of His Word. The power of His Spirit will set my thinking back on the right course.

2 Timothy 1:7 says “For the Spirit of God does not make us timid, but gives us power, love and self-discipline.”

Friends, perhaps today you find yourself feeling like “a city of broken walls.” Take a moment to ask the Father to refresh your thought life with His Word and His Holy Spirit. May He grant you His precious peace.

Prayer: Father, often we forget that You are the one who is in control. Help us to always look to Your Word and Holy Spirit for the strength and peace we need each day. We thank You for these gifts today and always. Amen.

About the author:
Diane Kalata lives in Central Florida; she has a wonderful husband of 26 years who is her caregiver she has three grown children. She enjoys writing, art, and walks when possible. She is a colon cancer survivor, but deals with continuous digestive issues as well as other chronic illnesses. However, God blesses her by allowing her to facilitate a home bible group and various other ministries, for which she is truly thankful.

Do you battle with giving God control of your thoughts? How has He refreshed you and granted you His peace?

This is the group Rend Collective singing “Joy.” we can always find something to be joyful about. Some days we may even have to laugh at how we stretch our scale of what is considered joyful, but the more we practice finding joy, the more God helps us discover it. -Lisa

Leave a Reply

