Writing With An Instructed Tongue

writing2Do you write encouragement to others? Even through posts or letters? Fiona shares the value in words.

“The Sovereign Lord has given me an instructed tongue, to know the word that sustains the weary. He wakens me morning by morning, wakens my ear to listen like one being taught” (Isaiah 50:4).

I came across this verse in Isaiah and it got me thinking.

There are probably many reasons why I choose to write, but one is to share what God is teaching me as I turn to Him for strength. I hope it might be helpful to others on similar journeys.

“The Sovereign Lord had given me an instructed tongue. . .”

There are times when God brings thoughts to mind, or verses seem new or more relevant. That’s often when I write. I read this verse and prayed that the words I share will always be inspired by Him.

“The word that sustains the weary. . .”

It seems appropriate that I’m writing for this ministry–Rest Ministries. Chronic illness makes us weary. This last year I’ve been more fatigued and weary–but God’s word and His promises, sustain me, and help me face another day, even if it is with pain and fatigue.

We all need faith to sustain us through the really rough days. My sister-in-law’s Mum, faced treatment for cancer during last year and people noticed her faith and her attitude and commented on it. On that often difficult journey, they saw the strength she displayed. Her actions were seen, not as words written, but words lived out.

“He . . . wakens my ear to listen like one being taught.”

I wonder whether I’m waking each morning, ready to hear and learn what God wants to teach me. Am I teachable? I know there are many days when that’s the last thing I wake thinking, but I am encouraged to try to approach each day that way.

Writing is a gift. I enjoy it, but it’s an honor and a responsibility I don’t take lightly. I want to hear and to write only what God brings to mind.

Prayer: Father God, Isaiah 55:3 says, “Give ear and come to Me; hear me, that your soul may live.” Thank You that You give us instruction for all areas of our lives. Help us to listen, to learn, to always be alert to the promptings You give us, and alert to the opportunities to share our faith and our hope in You. Amen.

About the Author:
Fiona Burrows lives in Melbourne, Australia. She is thankful that God walks each step of her life with her, and that He is teaching her new things as she learns to live with chronic back pain. She enjoys finding time for reading, writing, and photography, and to share those things with others. You can contact her in the Sunroom, or read more of her writing on her blog there.

Are you looking to God’s word to instruct you; to sustain you in your challenges? Are you able to approach each new day as an opportunity to learn what God longs to teach you? If not, what do you need to change this year?

This is the song “Fly” with Jonathan David Helser. The words are few but they song is a powerful reminder that we can never assume what God in store for us. Writing may not be your gift, but you do have one–a few I am sure, because God is generous when it comes to blessing us with talents that are unique to us and our experiences. Whatever we do, we must remember that it is worthless if we do not have a relationship with Jesus. Ask Him today how you can grow closer to Him and find what gift He has for you so you can fly! -Lisa

Leave a Reply

