How to Recognize Light in Your Darkness

imageCan you locate the light God is sending into your darkness? Lynn shares.

“When they saw the star, they were overjoyed” (Matthew 2:10).

We have just come through the season of Christmas yet the gift continues to unfold. I was meditating on the Magi who traveled so far in search of the Messiah.

What perseverance!

The time frame of their arrival in Bethlehem is not always clear among scholars, but that they did arrive is important.

“When they saw that the star had stopped, they were overwhelmed with joy” (Matthew 2:10 NRSV).

These men were astrologers who studied the heavens. It was this gift that helped them to recognize how Old Testament prophecies were close to being fulfilled.

It is interesting to think about “stars” in relationship to their travels for they lived by the lights in the dark skies and were guided in the night.

How often I feel lost in the darkness of my circumstances and pain. I can wander too long feeling overcome. The Magi welcomed the darkness for they knew it was leading them to the Messiah.

For them it was a long journey; for me it is a change in focus.

The Magi had to wait until the star stopped in its appointed place. The Lord often waits on me until I remember the “star” is permanently dwelling within me.

He is in his appointed place and wants me back there with Him.

What was the light in the Bethlehem stable was a dark and forsaken place for humans. Perhaps a torch carefully placed could have brought some light. But when the Magi kneeled to worship, it was their recognition of the light emanating from the babe that overwhelmed them with joy.

The gift that I can bring to the One who is the Gift, is recognizing how close He is and how much He longs for me to stop and recognize that all I need is to seek and find Him deep within.

Prayer: Lord, You were born in the darkness of a night so Your light could shine with lessons I need during my times of uncertainty. I bow before Your faithfulness and receive the light of Your care. Amen.

About the Author:
Lynn Severance is a retired elementary classroom teacher. Since 1983, she has lived with vestibular dysfunction: constant dizziness, sessions of vertigo and related side effects of nausea, balance problems, neck and back pain, visual tracking and eye fatigue. She is a breast cancer survivor having gone through surgery and chemotherapy treatments in 1987-88. She lives in Lynnwood, Washington. Do visit her blog at http://lynn-severance.blogspot.com

What stops you the most during times of darkness within your circumstances, causing hesitation in seeking God’s help. What is a simple way for you that can be a reminder to quickly turn and find his light?

Lynn shares, “The greatest gift we can bring to the Lord is ourselves, in all our weaknesses but also with our faith–child like faith–that will keep us within His Light. It seems so simple, but remains so hard on most of our days. But He is with us. Yo-Yo Ma and Alison Krauss are the artists in this rendition of ‘Simple Gifts.’ May we ever be drawn to His Light that sustains us.” Hoping you are blessed! -Lisa

4 thoughts on “How to Recognize Light in Your Darkness

  1. Dear Lynn,
    Your question prompted helpful reflection. I’d not given much thought to the triggers which delay my seeking God’s help. Identifying those triggers is the first step in resisting surrender to the darkness.
    Several times this past week I found my thoughts carrying me down a dark alley. A hideous alley lined with trashcans labeled ‘fear’, ‘jealousy’, ‘worry’, and ‘frustration.’ Those ugly thoughts plagued me, yet I still strolled along in the creepy shadows of my mind. What prevented me from searching for the light?
    My pride perpetuated self-sufficient thinking. Why do I find it so difficult to relinquish control? Especially when I can turn over the reins to an all-sufficient God. The defeated one (Satan) hides the Truth from me. The Truth is Christ is the Light of the world, the Light in my life, and the Light within me.
    Lord willing, the next time I find myself stumbling in dark thoughts, I’ll quickly identify the culprit. And quickly shift my focus to Him!
    “No, in all these things we are more than conquerors through him who loved us (Romans 8:37).”

    • Vicki – I have just come from reading and commenting on your “Mental Assistance Needed” which was posted today on the RM site. I had similar thoughts as you share here but they were about the times we can wander away when attempting to pray. I did not enumerate in those comments, but I know when I switch tracks at such times, it is the negative thoughts that can grab me so easily. It is more that they pull me out of the light of my intentions and then it gets dark. I hate those times – but they happen. I do believe it is a tactic of the enemy who knows our weaknesses so well and plays into them. We so need the Lord to pull us out. We don’t want to be there but it keeps happening.

      On another line of thought, your comments here reminded me of the woman in the “Song of Songs” who intentionally want out into the darkness of the night to see her Beloved. What a contrast but with its own message. She carried a lantern; we have the “lantern”. Her lantern probably helped her ( as well as her goal ) not to trip over the alley way disturbances.

      I so appreciate your comments – they help me to reflect more and are helpful.

      Love, Lynn

      • Hi again, Lynn,
        “The enemy who knows our weaknesses so well and plays into them.” Wise words which lead to another great strategy: pray for God to guard our thoughts against taunts from the enemy. Reminds me of His promise in Philippians 4:7: “The peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus.”
        Sharing His lantern,
        Vicki

      • Vicki – such a great Scripture reminder. I know I appreciate His faithfulness when I “return in thought to Him” and that does bring peace. I can beat up on myself over it all. He never does but welcomes my return. I try, too, to then talk to Him about where I just have wandered – the thoughts or fears or whatever it has been. Most likely they are what need the prayer attention if it is strong enough to keep me taunted.

        L.

Leave a Reply

