What if You are Unable to Fix Your Problem?

imageWhen we are unable to fix things, do we keep trying or should we have turned to God from the beginning? Becky shares.

“For we do not have a high priest who is unable to empathize with our weaknesses, but we have One who has been tempted in every way, just as we are—yet He did not sin. Let us then approach God’s throne of grace with confidence, so that we may receive mercy and find grace to help us in our time of need” (Hebrews 4:15-16).

I wanted to instill a few profound truths in the preschool class I worked with. Instead, they instilled truth in me.

I asked the little four- and five-year-olds to repeat these statements:

I am safe. I am important. I am loved.

These are true in and through Christ.

Before we were done, I added what a former coworker of mine said: “If there’s a problem: fix it.”

The children loved it and it has been a good reminder for me as well.

Today, however, as I taught the class, a four-year-old theologian said, “Talk to God!”

The statement became, “If there’s a problem: talk to God!”

Some problems are beyond our ability to fix.

In February 2012 I had been in the hospital a few days when the doctor came to me and explained that in addition to the pneumonia and TB found in my lungs, I had a growth on my right kidney. This is enough! I thought, as I began to cry.

It was in that hospital, in isolation, that I became more aware of the precious invitation to approach God’s throne of grace with confidence. In that time of illness I learned that healing may not come, but Jesus would be with me through it all.

He provided just the right substitute teacher as I healed. In that time I was assured of His gift of grace through Christ.

Prayer: Wonderful Savior, thank You for using the words of children to bring glory to You. Thank You that I can talk to You about my biggest and smallest pains. Amen.

About the Author:
Becky Elie lives in the Midwest and enjoys spending time with family. She was diagnosed with tuberculosis (TB) while teaching in Asia and is well after many months of medication and God’s care. She is learning that it is in her weaknesses that God’s strength is made known. Becky enjoys painting, photography, and learning more about living for Christ.

Is there a problem you are trying to fix in your own life right now that you need to give to God?

Ellie Holcomb sings “The Valley” and it is a song about how we need God beside us as we go through those tough times. There all alwas be things in our life or the lives of those we care about) that we are unable to fix. Thankfully, we can embrace the peace that God offers us. -Lisa

Leave a Reply

