Is God Beaming With Joy Over You?

imageDoes it give you peace–or uneasiness–to know God sees all the parts of you? Fiona explains.

“She gave this name to the Lord who spoke to her: ‘You are the God who sees me,’ for she said, ‘I have now seen the One who sees me'” (Genesis 16:13).

We were in a museum watching a small child playing. He was trying to re-assemble a pottery jar. He concentrated hard, tried different pieces and beamed with joy when he’d finally achieved the puzzle.

It hadn’t been a great day for me–better than some recently, but still I was exhausted–trying to keep up with others and look like I felt better than I did. It was my choice, but I was in a lot of pain and wondering why I’d bothered to come.

My life is lots of differing pieces that others see. Some see one part, others another, and some may see or understand more of those parts of pieces than others. I don’t reveal some things about me to many–and don’t reveal some things to anyone.

I’m often not sure if even I know all the parts that make up “Fiona.”

If I were a puzzle others tried to make sense of they couldn’t fully–but God can.

He sees each part, knows where it belongs, and I hope He might beam with joy on the occasions I seem to get myself “together.” I know He loves me even when I don’t–when I feel like there are pieces missing, out of alignment, or shape. Or maybe on the days when I feel so out of sorts.

Sometimes it’s not helpful to share parts of ourselves with others. Maybe they can’t handle it, or it may not benefit either them or us. While letting people close to us so they see our pain or insecurities can be hard or even impossible–God sees it all.

That both scares and comforts me.

As Hagar acknowledged in this verse above, God sees me.

I want God to feel He can beam with joy over what I say, do, how I treat others , and how much I love Him. I know that’s not always going to be the best it could be, but I want to be growing in my relationship with Him, with others. I want to be growing even in how I understand the “parts of Fiona” here and now.

Prayer: Father God, thank You for the ways You remind me of how much You know and care about me. Help me to live my life in ways that will honor You and bring You joy. Amen.

God sees you restministries.com

About the Author:
Fiona Burrows lives in Melbourne, Australia. She is thankful that God walks each step of her life with her, and that He is teaching her new things as she learns to live with chronic back pain. She enjoys finding time for reading, writing, and photography, and to share those things with others. You can contact her in the Sunroom, or read more of her writing on her blog there.

Are you aware that God beams with joy over you, or do you feel your lack of activity or work, is a disappointment? Can you see yourself as God sees you?

This song, “Joy”, is sung by the late Whitney Houston from the movie, “The Preacher’s Wife.” It is one of those gospel songs that can give you goosebumps. Enjoy! -Lisa

Leave a Reply

