Withstanding Hurricanes of Life

imageWhen life resembles a hurricane, how do you rely on the sovereign Lord? Vicki shares.

“Stand firm then, with the belt of truth buckled around your waist, with the breastplate of righteousness in place, and with your feet fitted with the readiness that comes from the gospel of peace. In addition to all this, take up the shield of faith, with which you can extinguish all the flaming arrows of the evil one. Take the helmet of salvation and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God. And pray in the Spirit on all occasions with all kinds of prayers and requests. With this in mind, be alert and always keep on praying for all the Lord’s people” (Ephesians 6:14-18).

(Note: Vicki also encourages you to read the Message version here.)

Like others who have multiple sclerosis (MS), I have balance issues. Thankfully my problem is subtle, only made apparent to me during a visit with my neurologist. She had me walk heel-to-toe. I needed to hold onto her for balance.

It’s bad enough when we’re wobbly on the outside. But shaky on the inside can be more devastating. Most chronic illnesses don’t have a cure. That makes the future uncertain. We dread the possibility of facing our worst fears. How can we silence the ‘what ifs’?

Ezekiel warned of God’s judgment. Now that’s something to fear! So Ezekiel hasn’t been one of my favorite books of the Bible–until recently.

Two words popped out: ‘Sovereign Lord’. So I circled them. Then I spotted them again and circled them.

Oh, there they are again. And again. God surely wants me to know He reigns supreme in my life.

Starting in chapter 30, I circled them more times than I could count. After a while, a wonderful thing happened. The repetition of that phrase went from my pencil to my head –and then to my heart. Filling me with assurances that He’s the Supreme Power.

Sovereign Lord … Sovereign Lord … Sovereign Lord … Sovereign Lord … Sovereign Lord…

Theopedia, in its focus on the Sovereignty of God, reminds us, “all things are under God’s rule and control, and that nothing happens without His direction or permission.”

The worst situations that confront us are those we’re unable to handle or control. It’s comforting to know our Sovereign Lord has unlimited power and authority. And that a Great Ruler cares about each one of us and our loved ones.

Prayer: Dear Sovereign Lord, I believe You’ve got everything under control, even when they seem out of control from my perspective. Put a hedge of protection around my thoughts as a barrier against fears. Keep me from worrying about things I can’t control. Help me bring my concerns to You and leave them at Your throne. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

About the Author:
Vicki understands special needs as a patient, parent, and professor. She has had multiple sclerosis since 1993. Her 33 year old son was diagnosed with schizoaffective disorder and attention deficit hyperactivity disorder. She’s taught special education as a teacher, administrator, and adjunct professor. Through her blog, she reaches out to other mothers of children with mental illness. http://mentalillnessmom2mom.net/
Vicki wrote a picture book about bullying: Heart Eyes: Beth and the Bullies. You can find out more about that book by visiting her Heart Eyes website: http://www.hearteyes.net

Has God recently silenced your worst fear? What verse transforms your worry into peace?

This is the group, Audio Andrenline singing, “Believer.” If you like the beach (or surfing!) you may love this video even more. But the real message is that we can ask God to help us go deeper–to walk beside Him even closer. If you are walking through “the valley of the shadows” right now, take heart. Many of us are there beside you, but best of all God is right there with you–and you are His full priority. Enjoy. -Lisa

Leave a Reply

