Baby Steps Get You A Long Way Over Time

baby-stepsAre you able to work on small tasks without feeling poorly about your accomplishments? Kerryn shares.

“You have many workers: stonecutters, masons and carpenters, as well as those skilled in every kind of work in gold and silver, bronze and iron—craftsmen beyond number. Now begin the work, and the Lord be with you” (1 Chronicles 22:15-16).

I’m amazed at how many crafts are mentioned in the Bible! I guess I shouldn’t be amazed, as God is the Creator and we’re created in His image.

Recently I was reminded of how many crafts I enjoyed creating, prior to illnesses. My eldest son helped me find something by going through every item in three storage cupboards. I grieved anew the loss of energy to be able to create in such ways.

Graciously God has not left me totally devoid of craft through discovering one type of baby wool that doesn’t affect my multiple chemical sensitivities. Although I can only manage the energy for basic repetitive stitches and nothing fancy, it’s enough for me to crochet granny squares.

I’m currently creating my 24th baby rug! Four have gone to an Indonesian orphanage that our church supports and that I visited before becoming ill. Others have been sold to raise money for it and still more have been given away as gifts.

Yesterday I had a revelation, as I prayed and crocheted. Each day is very repetitive for me, being housebound. My daily events are little, simple and repetitive. Yet over time God has used me to create much from my few stitches and daily grind.

I have a saying: “Baby steps get you a long way over time!”

My daily baby steps have created baby rugs that have been prayed over and gone to other places in the world, as God has led me. We can never underestimate how much the precious little we do can be used by Him.

What little tiny thing is possible for you? It may not be much, but God can grow it to be so much more if you ask Him!

“Now begin the work, and the Lord be with you.”

Prayer: Lord, You know how little I can manage to do each day. Help me to use these little daily baby steps to create something special over time. Transform my little into much for Your glory. Amen.

About the Author:
Kerryn Wright lives with her family amongst the gum trees in South Australia. She was a special education teacher prior to chronic illnesses. Her husband is carer for three of their family, who have chronic illnesses and disabilities. God has always guided them through life’s challenges, often in surprising ways.

What little things in your life can be transformed into much for God’s glory? How does the saying “baby steps get you a long way over time” help you?

This is “Worth The Wait” by the group 33Miles. Thankfully God reaches out to us and acknowledges our persistence, even when know what else seems to notice how hard we try to do even the smallest tasks. May it bless you today. -Lisa

4 thoughts on “Baby Steps Get You A Long Way Over Time

  1. Kerryn, I have been having problems getting onto the RM site so I will leave a comment here ( and there later if I get the site to open!).

    Amazing, Amazing, AMAZING how God has gifted you with this one craft area to enjoy and bless others. As we have shared before, all of the craft areas I once could do have had to be let go. I can understand that grief and the feeling of loss you express as I have gone through it, as well.

    But you post got me to re-evaluating about “baby steps” in other areas where creativity can be expressed; a joy for the one doing and then blessings for any who receive.

    I was thinking of our team of writers and how step by step we stitch words together; either in devotionals or in sharing encouragement with others ( at RM or in our other life outside RM ). It can seem repetitive when the same encouragement is shared over and over again with different people but if any are blessed, then the stitches or “crocheting” that links us all together is well worth the energy that it takes to keep at it.

    Loved this devotional!
    xo Lynn

    • Thanks dear Lynn. 🙂

      Yes, we’ve discussed before about our craft griefs. I was amazed how much I grieved anew that loss when eldest son pulled all of the craft things out of the cupboards. At least 7 crafts I now can’t do. I continue to hope that some of the abilities will return with renewed energy. Time will tell.

      Yes, I had thought that too about the devotionals. Amazing how God uses us all with our little for much! God sure is amazing in how He uses us, despite all. God bless. Lotsoluv Kerryn

  2. I love this Kerryn. What an achievement – 24 baby blankets! My daughter made one last year for a friend, and I know the time that went into it! And the blessing to the recipient receiving such a beautiful lovingly handmade gift.
    When we translate that concept (for those of us with perhaps a little more energy than you), at the beginning of each day, the tasks ahead can seem overwhelming, but the ‘baby steps’ idea helps us put one foot in front of the other, mentally and physically. I had to think this way recently when filling out Government paperwork to claim a pension. 183 questions? (I can’t do this!). But slowly chipping away at it, a little each day, I finally managed to get it done.
    Sometimes I fall into bed at night and revisit my day in my mind. I am often delighted to recall how much I have actually achieved, little by little, and I give God thanks for the strength he gave me to get it done.
    Love your work!
    Janne xxx

    • Thanks dear Janne. 🙂

      It’s now a total of 28 baby blankets, as I wrote this back in early November & had miscounted them & made more since. They are little though…. the size for a baby pram, baby stroller, bassinette, or baby capsule. Each one is 42 granny squares.

      WOW! 183 questions?!!! Yes, baby steps is a great way to tackle such a HUGE task. Praying this episode will soon be over for you & that you will be given a disability pension OR healing!! I’m always open for that, as I’m sure you are too!

      Where would we be without God’s added strength, help & guidance to get through our days! God bless you dear friend. LOTSoluv Kerryn

Leave a Reply

