Did God Really Make Me Perfect?

imageWhen you look at your body it can be hard to believe you are made in God’s perfect image. Bridget shares.

“Yet, O Lord, You are our Father. We are the clay, You are the potter; we are all the work of Your hand” (Isaiah 64:8).

“God doesn’t make mistakes.”

We’ve all heard this one time or another. I’ll readily agree to this statement when it’s uttered. But then under my breath or in my mind I ask, “But did God really mean to make me broken with illnesses? Did God really intend for me to struggle this much?”

These are thoughts every person has wondered . . . because this world is not perfect.

Recently I took a deeper look at Genesis, Chapter 2–when God created man. Genesis 2:7 says, “Then the Lord God formed a man from the dust of the ground and breathed into his nostrils the breath of life, and the man became a living being.”

It’s so easy to gloss right over this verse and say, “Yes, I know–God breathed life into man,” and move on. But when you take a closer look you see just how intimate this scene is.

First, when God created the earth, plant life, and animals, He spoke them into being. Now, when God is creating man, who is made in His image, He takes a different approach. When you look at the original Hebrew meaning of the word “formed” we find “the word implies initiation as well as structuring. In its principle form it denotes a potter or creator.” (Source: Hebrew-Greek Key Word Study Bible)

When you think of a potter, you think of an artist who takes special care with his work. He takes his time to plan and prepare. Then he carefully carries out his design with his own hands.

What a beautiful picture of the love and workmanship God took when He created us! He knew what it would take to shape me into the vessel He could use.

Those tough things we go through every day–those are the things that mold us into the person He intended us to be. It’s those struggles that mold our character into a more Christ-like character.

Wow. God lovingly and carefully molded me into who I am today, and for that I am grateful. Life is not easy, but knowing I am fearfully and wonderfully made helps!

Prayer: Dear Father, I admit I don’t always feel beautiful or feel that You made me perfect the way I am. Help me to see myself the way You see me–as a beautiful part of creation! Amen.

About the Author
Bridget Gazlay resides in beautiful West Michigan. She struggles with fibromyalgia, endometriosis, IBS, kidney stones, gastroparesis, and migraines. She works full time, but writes and designs fabric art on the side. Bridget’s prayer is that anyone who comes across her writing or artwork would see she allows, “God’s creation to be my inspiration.” Find out more about Bridget at, http://www.uniquelyfabric.com.

What parts of yourself do you find beautiful?

There are so many definitions of beauty in our word. This is Mandisa singing “True Beauty.” Never forget that God sees every scar, every pain as precious and beautiful. -Lisa

Mandisa Singing “True Beauty” on American Idol Extra. It has some heartfelt lyrics about all of the expectations our world tells us but that God loves us in so much deeper ways. Blessings, -Lisa

One thought on “Did God Really Make Me Perfect?

  1. Your piece calls to mind this verse, “You are beautiful my love. There is no flaw in you.”
    Thank you for the reminder that we are still on the path of beauty in His eyes. Sometimes I wonder what was so broken about me in the first place that I’ve had to be cracked and fired and remoulded so many times. I pray whatever He is preparing me for, I can be used well.

    You and I have a lot in common. Not only in a few of our little monsters, but also creatively.

    PS. If you ever want to pop in to an art share spoonie support group I belong to on fb, chronically inspired, we would enjoy having your talents and light.

Leave a Reply

