Preparing Yourself for a New Day

imageCan you find new strength by asking God for help? Pamela shares.

“I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty. I have learned the secret to being content in every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want. I can do all things through Christ who gives me strength” (Philippians 4:12-13).

How do you prepare yourself for each new day?

For so many years of my life I tried hard to be self sufficient and strong. Then in 1997, at the age of 44, I was diagnosed with fibromyalgia. I started to realize that I couldn’t be the super woman that I always strived to be.

The Lord taught me that whatever strength I did have came only from Him. As the years passed my strength failed in many ways. Not only did physical pain meet me daily but emotional pain, relentless anxiety and grief over what I had lost through illness.

I loved The Lord and I believed His word so I decided to trust what I read in the Bible. “I can do all things through Christ who gives me strength” (Philippians 4:13). That didn’t mean I could now be super woman again. It meant that where I needed strength He would provide it.

Yes, I still have fibromyalgia and all that goes with it but God has encouraged me. With the addition of Abby, our Maltipoo, my husband and I walk and prayer together daily. Depression has taken a back seat and when it does try to climb up front God reminds me to look at my thoughts and turn over to Him those that need to be surrendered to His control.

So began my tradition of starting each and every day asking God these four things:
God’s armor (Eph. 6:10-18), the fruit of His Spirit (Gal. 5:22-23), control of our emotions (Phil. 4:8) and to take every thought captive to the obedience of Jesus Christ (2 Cor. 10:5).

Today I ask these four things for each one who reads this today. May you be blessed by His love and mercy as you walk closer to Him.

Prayer: Father please clothe us in Your armor (Eph. 6:10-18), fill us with the fruit of Your Spirit (Gal. 5:22-23), take control of our emotions (Phil. 4:8) and help us take every thought captive to the obedience of Jesus Christ (2 Cor. 10:5). Amen.

About the author:
Pamela Doheney lives in Northern California with her best friend and supportive husband of 42 years. Together they have two grown children and two grand children. Pamela used to enjoy riding horses but had to release that to God just two years ago because of pain. She now enjoys her Maltipoo Abby and traveling with her now retired husband in their little fifth wheel and wondering where God will lead them to a new home. She currently lives on 5 acres that has become too much for her and her husband. She lives and walks, as best she can, by grace and the Spirit.

I hope you will read these passages and hide God’s Word in your heart. I look forward to hearing how God helps you as you learn to pray in this manner and learn as I did that through what I thought was loss has become my greatest gain. My relationship with our Lord! What are you struggling with today? Tell God about it. He wants to know. Let Him infuse you with His strength.

This is Toby Mac singing “Me Without You.” We may not always appreciate how God can make us new by just drawing to Him, but have you imagined how life would be without His enduring presence? If you have had a hard couple of weeks I understand and hope this blesses you. -Lisa

One thought on “Preparing Yourself for a New Day

Leave a Reply

