Are You Picking Your Battles Wisely?

battlesAre you extending grace this season or still choosing battles? Karlton shares.

“I am sending you out like sheep among wolves. Therefore be as shrewd as snakes and as innocent as doves” (Matthew 10:16).

I have learned over the years that I must guard my physical, mental, and emotional resources and use them carefully and wisely. My health issues do not leave me with any surpluses of energy, so I must be wise about how I expend my limited resources and abilities.

One of my favorite sayings is “pick your battles wisely.” And I have tried to live by that, especially since my health issues became life changing. I cannot afford to get involved in senseless debates or arguments, especially not with friends and family. If I stand my ground on an issue, I make very sure it is an issue that requires me to do so.

But beyond debates, arguments, and conflicts, illness forces me to carefully choose anything and everything that takes precious energy and strength away from me. There is no room for wasted effort, or useless application of my limited resources, and I am sure you can say the same thing.

In this life there is so little we have control over, especially when it comes to illness and disease, so when it comes to things we can control, where we can invoke our choices, we should do so wisely.

I would encourage you to take stock of your physical and mental resources, and to carefully consider where you want to expend your energy and abilities. There is so much in life we should avoid when it comes to the limited energy and resources we have. God helps us, giving strength and encouragement, yet He expects us to use good sense and not squander His help.

In life some choices are taken from you, yet there are other things you make choices about, and in those situations it is best to pick our battles wisely.

Prayer: Dear Lord, help us not to be unwise, but to always choose our battles wisely. Amen.

About the Author:
Karlton Douglas lives in Ohio with his lovely wife. His goal in life is to always choose his battles wisely with the Lord’s help.

Are bad decisions robbing you of much needed energy? Why not think carefully about what you are involved in and then pick your battles?

This is Jason Gray singing “Forgiveness is a Miracle.” It may not seem much like a Christmas song, but it was written thinking of the emotions that Joseph may have encountered when discovering Mary was with child.

Perhaps there is someone who has hurt you deeply and you didn’t want to start an argument, but the pain is still festering in your heart. I hope this video helps you know Jesus cares and will comfort you through it all. -Lisa

Leave a Reply

