Is There Anything Good About Depression?

depression4Some would argue that depression is void of anything good. Karlton shares.

“Answer me quickly, Lord; my spirit fails. Do not hide Your face from me or I will be like those who go down to the pit. Let the morning bring me word of Your unfailing love, for I have put my trust in You. Show me the way I should go, for to You I entrust my life” (Psalms 143:7-8).

For those of us who suffer depression, the word “good” being connected to it seems ridiculous. In a general sense, no, there is nothing good about depression. Nevertheless, I believe there are some side effects of suffering depression that can be good.

Depression can drive us into the arms of God. Depression humbles us, shows us our weakness and needs, reminds us that life is not always what it is cracked up to be, that there must be something more “out there.”

Depression can be dangerous, it has taken more lives than automobile accidents (according to the CDC). It often needs both medication and counseling. It is serious, and having suffered with it for years, I do not make light of just how horrible and dangerous it is.

I have read the there is a higher percentage of authors/writers than the general population who suffer depression. And that does not surprise me, as writers often strive to communicate their feelings on the written page, and authors often seek to create new fictional worlds and places that are better than the one they currently reside in due to their depression.

Some depressives are more creative, perhaps they “live in their head” more, think more, are alone more, and may be more sensitive and perceptive because of their depression. None of this makes depression good, but perhaps it is God’s consolation for our misery.

If you have depression or think that you do, and you have not already done so, I would encourage you to seek help, get counseling, if recommended, take medication, and importantly, call upon the Lord to aid you in this terrible battle. We are not alone in this fight.

Prayer: Dear Lord, when darkness surrounds us, please shine Your glorious light into our lives. Amen.

Have you been in the grip of depression? Have you reached out for help?

About the Author:
Karlton Douglas lives in Ohio with his lovely wife. Depression has long dogged his life, but he has found help and strength, not the least of which from the Lord.

If you are struggling with suicidal thoughts:

In the U.S. call 1-800-273-8255 for the National Suicide Prevention Lifeline.

If you live outside of the United States please contact health care workers or counselors in your area.

If you deal with depression (and who doesn’t? We all do on some level, I believe) this song may encourage you. It is Josh Wilson “Pushing Back the Dark.” It reminds us not to underestimate that God who created us and can certainly push the darkness back. Take a moment to listen, even if it just a blue day. -Lisa

Leave a Reply

