Can Things We Hate Draw Us Closer to God?

hateIllness has many logistics that we may hate, but can they bring us closer to God, the One who promises to comfort us in all things? Becky shares.

“But we have this treasure in jars of clay to show that this all-surpassing power is from God and not from us” (2 Corinthians 4:7).

Memories I don’t like include being told that I need another IV when I do not want another one in my right arm . . . because I would like to be able to write, draw, and paint.

My request was that she poke me in my non-dominate arm. She looked at my bruised arm–the one I was hoping for–and with limited English she explained “the pain!” It was a similar moment where I cried to realize that the nurse had only removed my preceding IV to put a new one into my skin elsewhere.

“Many hate?” she said with compassion in her voice which her words could not express.

Yes, many hate. I hated being poked with a needle. I do like the liquids entering my body directly and helping me heal. I hated being cooped up in a hospital bed that I didn’t have the strength and energy to crank up when I was tired of laying down.

I was grateful to be able to consider sitting up. I hated being alone. I love the reality that I was never really alone, because there inside of the worn out body of a girl sick in Seoul was the Spirit of the living God.

We have these treasures in jars of clay. The jar of clay is best defined by its owner.

Yes, I love being owned by Jesus. In Him I am whole. He alone can fill me up. Remove my pain, loosen my grip and open me up to the grace He inviting me to abide in.

Prayer: Lord Jesus, thank You for using the things I dislike to draw me into Your grace. In Your name, Amen.

About the Author:
Becky Elie lives in the Midwest and enjoys spending time with family. She was diagnosed with tuberculosis (TB) while teaching in Asia and is well after many months of medication and God’s care. She is learning that it is in her weaknesses that God’s strength is made known. Becky enjoys painting, photography, and learning more about living for Christ.

What parts of illness have made clear your dislike for something and pointed you back to the One you love?

This is Kutlass singing “Beautiful.” This Christmas song is all about how some of the things we don’t like much (like death, suffering, and more) do have a place in God’s purpose–so much so that He used them all in the story of His Son. I hope this reminds you today that God is using the things you dislike in your story too. -Lisa

Leave a Reply

