Are You Letting God Cuddle You?

cuddleIllness can be scary and lonely. Diane share the benefit of a good cuddle from God.

“I will grant you peace in the land, and you will lie down and no one will make you afraid” (Leviticus 26:6).

“Don’t be afraid. . . I’m here.”

Has anyone ever spoken those words of comfort to you? Maybe as a child your mom whispered them as she cuddled you after a bad dream and you couldn’t go back to sleep. Recently I heard the hymn, “Be Not Afraid”, a hymn I’d not heard since childhood. (Hear it below.)

As I listened, it took me to a place of comfort; I felt the Lord speaking, “Be not afraid, I go before you always.

“Come follow Me, and I will give you rest.” Oh, what a precious moment, just as though the Lord Himself, were sitting there with me, cuddling me, just as my mother had done; words that soothed and granted me His peace.

I think we all wish at times we could go back to that simpler time, sitting on our mother’s laps, enjoying that cuddle time, especially with chronic illness.

We, as those with illness or caregivers, often deal with sleeplessness, pain, worries, or just plan sadness.

The thing that brings me joy and comfort is that my Father in Heaven is right here and will still let me climb right on up into His lap–no matter how big I get!

He will cuddle me, and whisper His words of comfort and love when I need it most. And I know He will do the same for you too.

Prayer: Lord Jesus, thank You for being the One that, in all circumstances, we can climb onto Your lap and cuddle. We know You will love and comfort us and give us Your peace. Amen.

About the author:
Diane Kalata, lives in Central Florida, she is blessed to have three grown children, and a wonderful husband, who is also her caregiver in illness. She is a cancer survivor; continuing to deal with chronic pancreatic and digestive issues as well as neuropathic pain, and fatigue. She loves art and writing. Her desire is to continually be an encouragement to others; looking daily for those “God opportunities” to share His love and truth with others.

Do you have a favorite memory of a cuddle time with your mom or dad? How about with our Lord? Please take a moment and share!

put the hymn “Be not Afraid” with it. it is

Diane asked me to share the hymn “Be Not Afraid” with you and I found one of those versions that feels like a big cozy blanket wrapped around you, with John Michael Talbot. The video also has some video clips from the 1998 movie “The Prince of Egypt.” Never trust your feelings that tell you God isn’t beside you. Trust that His Word is true and you have nothing to fear. -Lisa

Leave a Reply

