The Gift of Tangible Prayer

prayer2The prayers of others can sustain us. Laura shares how a tangible reminder of the prayers blessed her.

“Keep on loving one another as brothers and sisters. Do not forget to show hospitality to strangers, for by so doing some people have shown hospitality to angels without knowing it” (Hebrews 13:1-2).

I am convinced God sends angels to us when we need them. Today God sent me one.

After weekday mass a woman who I’ve gotten to know through volunteer work came over to tell me she had something for me in her car. We walked across the church to the doors, after I assured her that I really could walk that far.

“Do you think you could walk down to my car and get it?” she asked. “It’s in the front seat.”

I assured her yes I could walk to her car, scoop up a lovely gift bag and return. She was happy to have gotten me this gift–which I knew about as she mentioned it to me a few weeks earlier.

She belongs to a ministry at church that makes prayer shawls. People hand-make the shawls and pray while they are created for the recipient. The shawls are essentially wrapped in love and prayers.

After the gift exchange, we parted ways. I immediately felt calmer and blessed.

When I returned home I opened the bag to the most vibrant, colored shawl I’ve seen. Reds, blues, purples adorned this gorgeous shawl enclosed with a prayer card explaining the process of making it. The shawl was made specifically for me while prayers were said.

It is enveloped in prayers; a constant reminder that God is with me and loves me.

I wrapped it around my shoulders immediately and started praying. I fell asleep calm, at peace with this amazing knowledge. Knowledge that this lovely woman, Barbara, gave me a beautiful prayer shawl from someone I’ve never met–Maria.

And a group of people prayed while it was being made and blessed. It is a constant reminder that I’m loved. What a remarkable gift!

Prayer: Dear Lord, thank You for putting people in our lives that help us when we need them. Help us to be beacons of Your message, Lord, and assist others in need. Amen.

About the author:
Laura Seil Ruszczyk lives in New York with her husband and three kids. She is a HopeKeepers leader and disability/chronic illness advocate for her church.

When have you experienced angels in your life?

There are days when we wonder how much more we can take. Why is life so hard? Why does everyone else seem to have a “life” while we just struggle over every little thing? This is Ellie Holcomb singing “The Valley” and they lyrics share how we come to God, asking–begging–for Him to make us whole. The battle seems to big and we must have help. She sings how her throat is worn out from crying out for help. If you are in this place right now, I hope this brings you comfort. -Lisa

Leave a Reply

