Do You Search Jesus for Comfort… or Life?

SEARCHIt is not unusual for us to search out Jesus when we need comforted, but Julie explains that He offers so much more that is not temporary.

“Jesus answered, ‘Very truly I tell you, you are looking for me, not because you saw the signs I performed but because you ate the loaves and had your fill'” (John 6:26).

God has provided for me my whole life. I have always had a warm house, plenty of food and clothing, and countless other blessings He has given me. So whenever I have a physical need, who do I turn to?

In John chapter 6, we see that Jesus fed 5000 people. They had a physical need met by Jesus on that day. Then we see starting in verse 22 that later some of these people wanted to find Jesus again. They went to great lengths to locate Him. They took boats over to the other side of the Sea of Galilee and did eventually find Him.

But these people, like many today, were only seeking out Jesus to provide their physical needs, to make their lives more comfortable and bearable. And today, when people get in trouble or have a great need–or suffer from an illness or pain–they diligently search for that same Jesus who can meet their physical need.

Sometimes God uses this avenue initially to draw people to Him. But what they need most is found in John 6:32–“the true bread from Heaven.” In verse 35, we see what that “bread” is:

“Then Jesus declared, ‘I am the bread of life. Whoever comes to me will never go hungry, and whoever believes in me will never be thirsty.’”

At times, God will create a situation where we realize we need something physical from Him to draw us to Him, and through that situation, we gain the true bread from Heaven. When you come to Jesus, are you only trying to fulfill a physical need? Jesus wants to meet your spiritual needs. He cares enough about you to get your attention and feed your spirit.

Prayer: Dear Precious Lord, I know that you care enough about me to get my attention through my pain so that I may gain that precious bread of Heaven, which is of so much more value than my physical comfort. Please feed me. You alone know what it is I truly need. Amen.

About the author:
Julie Buckley was diagnosed with mixed connective tissue disease in 1995 (scleroderma, rheumatoid arthritis, lupus and polymyositis) along with fibromyalgia. She lives in the midwest with her husband and has a grown son. She also has a blog site called “Healthy Souls,” which encourages Christians to grow stronger through their physical weakness, http://jabuckle.wordpress.com/

Are you only seeking God for physical needs? Has being ill lead you to the bread of heaven?

We so often see the deficits in our life instead of the bounties. If you woke up today–in a bed, and you live in a free country, and you can get up and get breakfast, you are already blessed so very much. We may not like to take our medications–and yet, so few people in our world have the ability to even get these medications.

Jason Gray sings, “With Every Act of Love” in this video, reminding us that we bring the Kingdom to people with our acts of love. Share a kind word, invite someone to dinner (even if you have to order it from a local restaurant.) Listen to someone as tears fall, celebrate when they are blessed. -Lisa

Leave a Reply

