Having an Attitude of Submission This Season

submission3Are you frustrated you can’t drink the pumpkin lattes or walk in the orchards? Welcome to our newest writer, Kay, who shares the blessings in submission.

“May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in Him, so that you may overflow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit” (Romans 15:13).

There is so much I love about the fall season. Here in Texas we have to wait awhile for the days to cool off, but when they do. . . boom! Out come the boots, scarves, vests, jackets–layers of wardrobe wonderment!

Not only are clothes fun in the fall, but just think of all the beauty in nature as all the colors change. Not to mention the food! Oh, my! The food is as big of a wonderment as the wardrobe!

Then there are the fall festivals and pumpkin patches and Thanksgiving holidays. Need I say more? Fall is full of so much to be grateful for!

None of this has changed since I was diagnosed with fibromyalgia going on fourteen years ago. I may have had to lower my heel levels on my boots–other than that, party on!

I do not mean to minimize what it is like to live with the chronic illness. It is hard. I know firsthand. It is a daily struggle and sometimes we need reminders that help us on our journey.

One of mine is a post card I have placed on my refrigerator that is postmarked April 24, 1986. It has been on every refrigerator we have owned since then.

It says this:

“Attitude is that ‘single string’ that cripples my progress or keeps me going. It alone assaults my hope or fuels my fire.” -Chuck Swindoll

That quote reminds me that I have a choice. This fall season, let us choose an attitude that fuels that fire.

We can do that by placing our hope, not in our circumstances, but in our Creator. When we do that, He will sustain us through every season of our lives.

Prayer: Father, I pray that we be filled with Your joy every season of our lives. Our pain is real and our struggles are real, but You are too. Thank You, that even through the pain and the struggles we can choose joy, through You. In Jesus name, Amen.

About the Author:
Kay Davis lives in Texas with her husband, Ron. Their three grown daughters are married to their wonderful sons-in-law and have blessed them beyond measure with their eight precious grandchildren. She finds solace in writing and prays that God uses it to draw others to Himself.

Illness can rob our lives of many things, what in your life do you refuse to let it rob you of? I use that postcard on my refrigerator as a reminder of how vital our attitudes are in the midst of our struggles. What do you use in your life as a reminder?

When we hear the word “submission” we automatically think it means we will be uncomfortable. We will be tested, we will be doing something we don’t want to do. But it can also mean hope. Are you embracing hope along with your act of submission? This is Danny Gokey singing “Hope in Front of Me.” Enjoy. -Lisa

Leave a Reply

