When You Cannot Feel God’s Presence

presenceHave you ever felt God withdraw the feeling of His presence from you and you feel overcome by loneliness? Julie shares how God never forgets us, despite how it may feel.

“But Zion said, ‘The Lord has forsaken me, the Lord has forgotten me.’ “Can a mother forget the baby at her breast and have no compassion on the child she has borne? Though she may forget, I will not forget you! See, I have engraved you on the palms of My hands; your walls are ever before Me”‘” (Isaiah 49:13-16).

All through history God’s people–in their affliction–have thought that God has forgotten them.

Those feelings of abandonment we have are nothing new. There have been times when I felt so abandoned by God that I frantically searched for a way to get His attention.

Perhaps He will hear me if I fasted?
Or maybe my weeping will send Him to my rescue.
Did He forget about me and my troubles?

There are times when God actually does take a step back and withdraws and that will make us feel forgotten.

We have a good example of this in the Old Testament with King Hezekiah. In 2 Chronicles 32:31 we see that “God left him to test him and to know everything that was in his heart.”

God did leave Hezekiah to himself for a time. In this case, Hezekiah was getting a little too proud. God had richly blessed him, and he was thinking too highly of himself.

Sometimes God has to test us too, by leaving us alone. That is when our true colors show through, and our true self is revealed. Sometimes it can be a bit ugly. Your true integrity and character will come out on your worst days of pain and suffering.

But God has never truly forgotten us.

Take a look at the palms of your hands. They are always right there in front of you, and you always know what is going on with them. God gives this illustration of being engraved in His palms to assure us that we will never be forgotten.

Be confident that He is there, and wait patiently for Him to finish what He wants to accomplish, and learn from it. Rest in the palm of His hand.

Prayer: Lord God, Sometimes I feel so forgotten by You! But I know that you always have me in Your hands. Help me to endure, Lord. Give me Your strength through this time, and give me the assurance that You are always there. Amen.

About the author:
Julie Buckley was diagnosed with mixed connective tissue disease in 1995 (scleroderma, rheumatoid arthritis, lupus and polymyositis) along with fibromyalgia. She lives in the midwest with her husband and has a grown son. She also has a blog site called “Healthy Souls,” which encourages Christians to grow stronger through their physical weakness, http://jabuckle.wordpress.com/

Have you ever felt forgotten by God? What were the circumstances? What helps you through those times?

There are times when we wonder where God is. Sometimes the crises seem to just come one after the other–overlapping–with no room to breath. This is a great song by Royal Tailor, “Remain.” If you feel overwhelmed by it all and wondering where God is in all of it, take a few minutes to be encouraged with this video. -Lisa

Leave a Reply

