Trying to Problem Solve Before Turning to God?

beforeWhen a problem arises do you pick up the phone and discuss it with someone–before God? Try to find a solution yourself? Laura shares.

“Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways submit to Him, and He will make your paths straight” (Proverbs 3:5-6).

Trust in the Lord. . .

We hear this often and are reminded to do so whenever we open our Bibles. At times trust is difficult.

Perhaps we are challenged when children are hurting; when in more pain than usual; when waiting for medical test results or when a relative or friend is going through something that is very difficult physically and/or emotionally.

Sometimes I turn to friends first–before God–for assistance. I talk to them to explain what is happening and tell them about my worries and fears.

I can seek God, however, for everything and He provides great comfort. Sometimes I will get answers; other times silence, and oftentimes peace. I may not receive the answers I am seeking but God listens.

I found a routine in the last few months where I go to church once or twice weekly in the morning. I attend the service and then pray quietly. The calm of the physical structure allows me to forget about everything else in my life and focus on my relationship with the Lord. It is peaceful. I also have found that late at night is a great time to pray–usually when I can’t sleep and the house is dark and quiet.

The thing about God is you don’t need a cell phone or the internet to connect with him. You just need an open heart and mind and the willingness to be still. It is a gift we are provided and it is pretty remarkable.

“As for God, His way is perfect: The Lord’s word is flawless; He shields all who take refuge in Him. For who is God besides the Lord? And who is the Rock except our God? It is God who arms me with strength and keeps my way secure” (Psalm 18:30-32).

Prayer: Dear Lord, Your word is flawless. Thank you for protecting us, loving us and easing our concerns. Help us to honor you as we go about our daily routines. Amen.

About the author:
Laura Seil Ruszczyk lives in New York with her husband and three children. She is a retired elementary school counselor who discovered her love of writing about 35 years ago. Laura is the disability/chronic illness advocate for her church and also enjoys running a HopeKeepers group. She is writing a book about her illness, dysautonomia: the deregulation of the autonomic nervous system. She had a pacemaker implanted in October, 2013 as a result of dysautonomia slowing her heart rate.

Do you find it difficult to trust in the Lord at times? And what routines help you find comfort during more challenging times?

We sing “All I Need is You” –perhaps along with Hillsong in this video. But… is all you need God? This week, when something occurs and you quickly go for the phone or email to tell a friend, pause and talk to God first. Find out if it calms you, relieves you, blesses you. – Lisa

2 thoughts on “Trying to Problem Solve Before Turning to God?

  1. Thank you so much! The Psalm you mentioned really touched me. There is so much I could share but the real message is I’d gone to everyone and everything before I crawled into a hot bath yesterday and sobbed my pain, fear, grief, lack of understanding, loss of faith and hurt to the Lord. For the first time in my life I said “I don’t understand”. I dared to question, God. I’ve always prayed for help or in gratitude but this time I asked “why” something I said I’d never do. It wasn’t a “why me” it was just a why for my newest injury all pain for all people. I don’t have an answer but it it comforting to know I was allowed to ask the why. Today my thoughts are clearer and my pain is easier. In my church sanctuary during the quiet of the day when the lights are off and the sun streams through the natural stone chunks of stained glass I sit and pray, or think and get away from the world, and I am still and I wait for His calming hand to sit on my shoulder. It truly is my sanctuary and I’m so grateful for a place to safely land.

    Laura, your messages always resonate with me and I appreciate you. Be well and May God Bless You.

    Terri

    • Terri, thank you for sharing your experiences yesterday. I am guessing a lot of us have had those moments. I am so glad to hear today is a bit better.
      Your church sanctuary sounds a lot like the chapel I prayer at in church – in fact got there today before and after the HopeKeepers group I run. Regardless of how I am feeling the moment I step in there and allow God in, I calm down.
      Thank you for the kind words. Blessings, Laura

Leave a Reply

