Struggling with Complaining About Your Illness?

complainingIllness is difficult and complaining may feel justified, but at what point can it impact your life? Bridget shares.

“Then the Lord said to Moses, ‘I will rain down bread from heaven for you. The people are to go out each day and gather enough for that day’” (Exodus 16:4a).

“But God, Mary can eat whatever she wants. Why can’t I eat that? It’s not fair that I have to live like this!”

I hate to admit it, but my grumbling to God has been more than an occasional occurrence lately. Most of my frustration is related to food and not being able to eat what I want. And notice I said, “What I want.”

Finding out I had a stomach-emptying disorder was life-altering. When I eat, my food doesn’t empty into the small intestines like it’s supposed to. This causes all sorts of problems.

To combat this I need to eat very small meals and try to eat more liquids and soft foods. I need to eat low-carb and low-fat which is challenging. My attitude didn’t help.

One day God reminded me about the Israelites and how they groaned to Moses about not having enough food to eat. God heard their mumblings and provided manna in the morning and quail in the evening.

God provided for them the entire forty years they were in the desert. Yet, they continued to argue, complain, and moan about what they wanted.

I had to pray and ask God to forgive my ungratefulness. God gives me manna each and every day and I am truly thankful I can eat something and survive day-to-day.

God doesn’t only provide just food. He provides for my every need, every day. And like the Israelites, God uses the “desert times” in my life to teach me to trust Him and only Him.

We all face a “desert trial” of some sort. And God will be there to provide for you too. He will give what you need just when you need it-not before and not after–but just on time. Friends, we can wait on Him as His timing is perfect! What an encouraging reminder.

Prayer: Dear God, thank You for all You have given me. You always provide for my needs, for which I am grateful. Help me to see You at work in my life. Amen.

About the Author
Bridget Gazlay resides in beautiful West Michigan. She struggles with fibromyalgia, endometriosis, IBS, kidney stones, and migraines. She works full time but writes and designs fabric art on the side. Bridget’s prayer is that anyone who comes across her writing or artwork would see she allows, “God’s creation to be my inspiration.” Find out more about Bridget at, http://www.uniquelyfabric.com.

What “manna” does God give you? Are you grateful for His timely provision?

When we are consistently coping with the grief of our losses, our natural instinct is to complain. But God does call us to be more Christ-like, rather than to follow our instinctive sinner’s behavior. It can seem cliche to say when God closes one door he opens a window, but this is a beautiful song by Babbie Mason, “God Will Open a Window” (along with the choir) that is a refreshing reminder that He has never stepped away from us. I have had the joy to meet Babbie in recent years and just love her heart. Her testimony makes her words so powerful. -Lisa

Leave a Reply

