Why Is It So Hard To Trust?

trust3We claim we trust God, yet why is it the worries still come? Fiona shares.
“The Lord is good, a refuge in times of trouble. He cares for those who trust in Him” (Nahum 1:7).

I wonder why I need God to remind me I know the answers to the same questions, over and over again. I’ve been in that place again.

We know–so why can’t we just trust? We believe–so why can’t we live like we do? Why is it so hard?

What reasons has God given us?

Past assurances: We can look back at instances where God’s been faithful, provided, healed, comforted, just worked things out–for us, or for others we know. Those times when “God showed up.”

“In you our fathers put their trust; they trusted and you delivered them” (Psalm 22:4).

Present examples: God’s doing much for us right now. Did we get out of bed sometime today? Did someone encourage us? Are we seeing the beauty of God’s creation around us? Isn’t God hearing and understanding what’s on our minds–right now?

“But I trust in you, O Lord; I say, ‘You are my God'” (Psalm 31:14).

Future promise: His word’s full of promises. New bodies, a home in heaven. We see many promises or prophecies came true in the Bible, why wouldn’t that still be the case for what He’s promised us?

“Trust in the Lord forever, for the Lord, the Lord, is the Rock eternal” (Isaiah 26:4).

It should be convincing, shouldn’t it? It’s all there for us to see.

Like God pealing back the layers of fear and anxiety, He reminded me all the reasons why I do have faith, why I do trust Him, and why I can get up each morning and face another day.

God makes the difference. Without Him there is nothing worthwhile and nothing makes any sense. I can trust Him with my pain, my fear, my anxiety and trust others to Him too–because God is God.

Prayer: Father God, when we find it hard to trust You, we ask You to “fill us with all joy and peace as we trust in You.” Help us to “overflow with hope by Your Spirit’s power” in our lives (Romans 15:13). Thank You for making the difference in my life and in each person’s life who reads this. Amen.

About the Author:
Fiona Burrows lives in Melbourne, Australia. She is thankful that God walks each step of her life with her, and that He is teaching her new things as she learns to live with chronic back pain. She enjoys finding time for reading, writing, and photography, and to share those things with others. You can contact her in the Sunroom, or read more of her writing on her blog there.

Do you struggle to trust at times? Does your past, present, or future help you remember why you can trust God–all the time?

It can be difficult to trust. We go through the motions and claim we are putting our trust in God–we want to be that kind of person. And yet, sometimes it feels like we have to hand over the situations to Him hourly! Fiona thought you would enjoy this song, “I Will Trust You” with Steven Curtis Chapman. It’s a gem. -Lisa

Leave a Reply

