How is God Speaking to You In Your Day?

Do you hear God speaking to you in ways that are immeasurably more than you expect? Jackie shares.

“Now to Him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to His power that is at work within us” (Ephesians 3:20).

god-speakingGod often uses the ordinary to lead us into extraordinary results. For those of us with chronic illnesses, we may be especially encouraged with God’s leading due to our many struggles.

Dragonflies are one of my “ordinary things.” One day I was at a stop light, heavy-hearted over a desperate family issue, and two fairy-like dragonflies danced with light-hearted abandon right in front of my car.

Out of the blue I wondered if God had a message for me in the dragonflies. Then I thought, How ridiculous!

Upon returning home, I picked up Sojourner’s magazine. Of all things, I turned to an article on dragonflies–those delicate, azure and emerald-winged little creatures.

I was astounded.

The author shared that at difficult times of transition, dragonflies seemed to show up in her life as messengers relaying that all will be fine.

She gave an example of when she was in Malawi attempting the near-impossible task of adopting a little boy. As she fearfully waited before the magistrate, trying not to have a panic attack, a legion of dragonflies surrounded her. She soon became “Vasco’s” mother. God really had my attention now!

Later I was writing in my journal and noticed for the first time that on the cover was a beautiful dragonfly. Upon beginning to write, I noticed that every single page had a dragonfly on it.

I knew then God was speaking. He was assuring me that the family hardship we had been struggling with for several years would be fine. I knew deep within my heart this would be so.

I held on to this promise for a couple more years when this family crisis was resolved in ways that were “immeasurably more than all I could imagine.” Now, I know that when a dragonfly crosses my path, God is saying, “All will be fine in My time.”

Prayer: What a gracious God You are. Just to think that You take the ordinary in our lives and at times make them extraordinary lessons from You. Thank You for loving us in this way. Amen.

About the author:
Jackie Smith is from Knoxville, TN near the beautiful Smoky Mountains. She struggles with Sjogren’s Disease and migraine headaches. Jackie had a bilateral mastectomy over 25 years ago. A few years ago she had her colon removed, necessitating a permanent ileostomy. She has her master’s degree in Child and Family Studies. Between her and her husband of 35 years there are 5 children and 12 grandchildren who provide much joy. Jackie loves sharing the rich experiences God has lavished upon her.

What things has God done for you that are extraordinary beyond measure? If you can’t think of any, ask Him to make you aware and to bless you in this way. He is anxious to do so.

It is so easy to look at our circumstances and only see the pain, the loss… But if we ask God to help us see His blessings, grace, and the path He wants us in, we are able to hear God speaking to us–even just to say, “I am here.” Natalie Grant sings “Whisper” in this video and the lyrics explain how we all are looking for the lightning bolts to hear God’s voice, but most often it comes in just a whisper.

Leave a Reply

