Are You Following God’s Direction or Your Gut?

DirectionAre you allowing God to fully guide your life or are you going with the direction that just feels right? Julie explains.

“Whether you turn to the right or to the left, your ears will hear a voice behind you, saying, ‘This is the way; walk in it'” (Isaiah 30:21).

When I was a child my dad decided that after church every Sunday it would be fun to let some of us kids direct his driving to get us back home. When it was my turn I directed my dad on which roads to turn. Some of them didn’t look familiar, but I knew which direction I wanted to go, and I was sure we would eventually get home.

When more time passed than it usually took to get home, my father finally asked me, “Where do you think home is from here?” I pointed west, but I had ended up taking our family about 13 miles away from where we lived, and we were farther away from our home than when we had originally set out!

Isn’t that how we as Christians are much of the time? We think we know what direction we should be headed, so we go that way without asking our Heavenly Father if it is right. S0metimes we get so far off track that we are farther from our goal than when we started out.

Are you afraid to totally turn your life over to God and let Him take complete control? Could it be that you are afraid that you will be signing up for a life of misery? That surrendering to God is going to cause all sorts of new trials in your life?

Don’t let the enemy convince you of that lie.

Trials come to both believers and non-believers, but the difference is, you have God to help guide you through them. You can know you will be going in the right direction. Listen for His voice telling you the right way to turn, and let Him take over.

Prayer: Father, it is hard for me to turn the wheel over to You, when I think I know the right way. You may take me in a direction I don’t think is right, but ultimately, I know that you will get me safely home. Help me to trust You and not be afraid to give You total control. Amen.

About the author:
Julie Buckley was diagnosed with mixed connective tissue disease in 1995 (scleroderma, rheumatoid arthritis, lupus and polymyositis) along with fibromyalgia. She lives in the midwest with her husband and has a grown son. She also has a blog site called “Healthy Souls,” which encourages Christians to grow stronger through their physical weakness, http://jabuckle.wordpress.com/

Have you given God complete control on the direction of your life? Have you ever had an instance where you took control and your life went in the wrong direction?

It likely comes as no surprise that the video I thought to share was “Jesus Take the Wheel” with Carrie Underwood. This song hit the top country charts and made millions of people driving down the road wonder where they were putting their faith–in themselves or into God’s hands, I hope it blesses you as well. -Lisa

Leave a Reply

