Do You Need a Beautiful Day?

BEAUTIFUL-dayCan we really choose what kind of day we are going to have? Laura shares how to find the beauty in the moments.

“The whole earth is filled with awe at your wonders; where morning dawns, where evening fades, you call forth songs of joy. You care for the land and water in it; you enrich it abundantly” (Psalm 65: 8-9).

I set a new playlist on my iPhone for a charity bike ride. It is a 10-mile event to raise money for a cancer hospital near to my heart. My mom died in the hospital fourteen years ago. While only there a few days, the staff tried valiantly to save her life and–when that was deemed impossible made her, and us–comfortable until she died.

Since then I have participated in this bike ride to raise money for cancer research in my city. Even the years I have been unable to ride due to chronic illness, now since 2011, I have raise at least $1,000 for the cause.

This year I have decided to give the 10-mile ride a try. With a good plan, a pacemaker beating inside me, and my husband along for the ride (for safety), I am hopeful I will complete the event. I have discovered I can bike about five miles before I become symptomatic and with rest and fluids at that point can continue on.

But I will not put myself or anyone else in danger, so will pray for God’s protection and decide that day whether the ride will be attempted.

Either way, I know the fact I am able to ride and balance on my bike is a pure gift from God. And regardless if it takes me hours or days to recover from a ride, the joy I get from biking is worth it. I savor the joy but don’t take it for granted, as I know it is a gift that could end at any time.

My first song on my new playlist is “It’s a Beautiful Day” by the Irish rock band U2. The song talks about heading out on the road with no destination in sight, but seizing each moment. The lyrics seem appropriate for my ride.

Every day has some beauty in it. We just have to find it.

Prayer: Dear Lord, help us to remember to look for and find beauty in each day. Thank You for guiding us on our chronic illness journeys. In Your name, Amen.

About the author:
Laura Seil Ruszczyk lives with her husband and three children. She successfully completed the Ride for Roswell charity bike ride in Buffalo, NY and had a fabulous time. She gives all the credit for the ride to God.

What gifts from God do you relish?

This is the song Laura spoke of. Just yesterday I was starting the morning feeling overwhelmed with the next week and the scripture that came to mind was “This is the day that I have made. Rejoice and be glad in it” (Psalm 188:24). Yes, it is a beautiful day–if we can just look beyond our circumstances. May you have an unexpected beautiful day. – Lisa

I wanted to share this with you too. I saw this video awhile back and when I read Laura’s devotional it came to mind. Although it is a marketing video that shares the power of words, it is also a reminder of those around us who–even though they cannot see the beauty in their day–they still know it is there. Because they know God created it. And all that He creates is beautiful. -Lisa

Leave a Reply

